Oil Filter Adapter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oil Filter Adapter

I have a 92 Grand Marquis. The oil filter adapter is leaking. How do I get to the oil filter adapter and repair it? I have never done this procedure before.

There are several places that the Oil Filter Adaptor can leak oil. Three to be exact. 1. block side, 2. oil filter side, and 3. Oil Pressure Sending Unit side. It can also leak coolant from the coolant-hose side. So there are basically 4 areas where it could leak from. I'm going to assume you meant leaking oil.

First, are you sure it's leaking from the Oil Filter Adaptor?
    Can you see any cracks in the OFA?
    Is it leaking from the BLOCK side, or the Oil-Pressure Sending Unit side?

If the block side is leaking, maybe the bolts are just a little loose, will tightening them up make the leak go away?

I know it sounds stupid, but is the filter on tight?

If the OPSU side is leaking, clean the area well and see if there are any cracks. Sometimes people overtighten this and break the OFA (I did).

If there are no cracks, see if tightening the OPSU **C A R E F U L L Y** makes the leak go away. This is pipe thread which keeps expanding, and will break the cast-aluminum OFA before it bottoms OR tightens completely! 1/4 to 1/2 turn increments is fine. You want it to be snug, not real tight though. If this doesn't stop your leak from the OPSU, you should remove the OPSU, use a wire brush on the threads, use a good thread sealant (Permatex is good) and rethread the OPSU into the OFA ** C A R E F U L L Y**. If this doesn't work, then there is a hairline crack in the OFA, or oil is running down from the block and running downhill to the OPSU area.