Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hello, new to Ford here. Picked up a sweet project.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello, new to Ford here. Picked up a sweet project.

Hi all. My boss sold me his 88 Mercury Grand Marquis for the sum of $200. It's got 75,000 miles on it. Little bit rusty on the outside, but the inside is absolutely perfect (with the exception that the drivers side rear window won't go down, the driver's door doesn't lock and I can start the car without the key).

Anyway, I'm 19 and enrolled at the New England Institute of Technology for Auto mechanics. I've worked in the trade for about 2 years.

I have some car experience. I've owned 8 cars, this is my first FoMoCo product. I've had all Chryslers.

An ongoing project I have is a 95 Plymouth Voyager van I bought for $230 with a blown trans. I pulled out the motor, rebuilt it, and threw in a 5 speed manual. It's off the road now until it's supercharged, which will happen soon. I'm almost there.

My last project was a 94 Dodge Caravan, 2.5L TBI 5 speed (Factory). I was bored with it so I pulled it out and installed a 2.5L Turbocharged engine out of a Dodge Daytona. 14lbs of boost, goodbye tires!
    The death of that vehicle was that an injector stopped firing and melted a piston.
    website on that van: http://www.angelfire.com/ri2/turbominivan/van.html

Anyway, with this new Grandma-quis I'm really interested in a 5.0 HO or 351W swap. I *hear* that either of the two would bolt right in. The only differences would be the engine bay wiring harnesses, but I can swap them at the bulkhead connectors.

This can be a cheap and powerful project. I cought the V-8 bug and although I'm not enjoying the 18.8mpg I've been getting, No one expects this thing to be able to spin the tires!

What are some popular engine swaps?
    1988 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Brakestand machine.