Taking all 4 cats off Need insight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taking all 4 cats off Need insight

Will this improve my gas mileage or make it hell?? Jus curious because i would think it'll improve it because of better flow which in turn you do not need to mash the gas as hard.. But catylitic converters may help your gas mileage im not really sure.. Ne help would b great.

If the converters are in good shape there wont be much if any differance if replaced with a pipe. Gutting a converter and reinstalling will cost you some economy.
    Scars are tatoos of the fearless

Comment

I gutted mine and got like 2mpg better. It sounded funny until I got my flowmasters put on, now its all good. Not sure what year your car is but if its 95+ you'll need o2 eliminators or a tune. Gutting the cats just allows for future upgrades. Before any mods on my TC she was getting 23mpg on the highway, after 27mpg. Im sure it will change when I get my 3:55's in tho.
      Chris - A 20th Century Man \m/ ^.^ \m/

Comment

keep your cats! unless they are bad, your car will stink like hell, and every time you come to a stop all the fumes will enter your cabin [if you have your outside air on, or the windows down.] I just put my cats back on for this very reason.
        1989 Lincoln Town Car - "Anabelle" - Original block, .030 over with SpeedPro pistons, rods fitted with ARP hardware, FRPP +volume oil pump, GT-40 3bar heads, Crane 1.72 rockers, 89' Fox cam, 93' Cobra lower intake, Explorer upper and 65mm TB, 93' Lightning EGR spacer, K&N intake kit from a 4.0L Ranger, 19lb/hr injectors w/ 87 Mark VII ECM, cat/smog deletes, Big Brake conversion, 3.55 K-Code Trac-Lok/Disc brake rear axle, CVPI LCA's w/1" sway bar in rear, wagon front sway bar, BBK 2.5" off-road H-Pipe, Flowmaster super 40s, HPP wheels, 3G alternator w/LMR.com wiring kit, gear reduction starter conversion, Best 1/4 time: 16.0 @ 85mph.

Comment

Originally posted by 89LincolnTWNcar