Gear choice for 02 grand marquis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Gear choice for 02 grand marquis

I am just learning about gears and i need some information and some advice. I want to get either 3.73 gears or 4.10 gears. I have been told that for only lightly modding a car i should go with 3.73. are 4.10s to steep for a daily driver. will my car wind out to much at 70+ mph. Also i am not sure what else i need to make the gears work, chip to reprogram the tranny? Some one told me i will need a new aluminum driveshaft. Will my stock driveshaft work? i am on a tight budget. As you can see i am new to the performance side of cars so please let me know what kind of parts i will need for my gears as well as any advice anyone may have. thanks
    -Bobby-

Here's you answer... it depends.

First of all I would think an 02 already has the aluminum driveshaft.

If the car is going to see much time on the interstate, I would suggest 3.73's. They are just about the perfect compromise for a daily driver. True you will get worse mileage on the interstate, but not a whole lot. I am sure other members can chime in and tell you their experiences. You should gain a bit of mileage in town and have a very noticable improvement in acceleration.

If you are planning on putting huge tires on it (donks/dubs) then you need to get your head examined. If that doesn't help and you still are set on running 24" rims on all 4 corners, or rarely if ever take the car out of town, then you might want to go with something a bit lower. (numericly higher 4.11+)

Your first step is to look at the "AXE" code from the tag on your drivers door, and match it up to the one in my sig, to see what your existing gears are. Then tellme what size tires you plan on running. I can give you a comparison of what rpm,s you are running at a given speed now verses what rpms you will be turning at the same speed with a different gear.

Good luck.
    Bryan