Wiring info for stock 87 Tapedeck/radio

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wiring info for stock 87 Tapedeck/radio

Ok, so here's the situ... I have a decent CDplayer in my 87 F150. It was installed by Best Buy, so it has they're wiring harness on it to match the stock plugs. I want to put this stereo in my Tudor. The plugs all match up, but I don't know that the wires actually do.

Im a fair noob at car-stereo's, so I don't know how far to proceed. When I plug the new head unit into the connectors in the Tudor, I can get the unit to turn on, but within 5 seconds of output to the speakers, the sound dies. Just fizzles out. The unit still has power, just no sound comming from the speakers.

If I knew what the wires on the car's end were, I could prolly trace them and hopefully see where I may be crossed.

Any help woudl be appreciated, I'm trying to get this installed for a trip tonight. <shrug> If not, Guess I can always just pop the stock POS back in

Thanks Mangs

The Admiral

Just a thought, did the 87's use common grounds on their speakers?

Comment

Originally posted by HerMajestysMechanic View Post
      Just a thought, did the 87's use common grounds on their speakers?
      Yes.
      1987 LTD CROWN VICTORIA, 5.0 EFI, MAGNAFLOW DUAL EXH, RED LANDAU
      FRESH AOD, 3.27 OPEN DIFF, 57K MILES, B&M SHIFT KIT AND R134A A/C

Comment

So other than running completely new speaker wires, theres nothing I can do at the moment?

Comment

I have an aftermarket head in my car, used an adaptor harness from Circuit City without running new speaker wire.
          1987 LTD CROWN VICTORIA, 5.0 EFI, MAGNAFLOW DUAL EXH, RED LANDAU
          FRESH AOD, 3.27 OPEN DIFF, 57K MILES, B&M SHIFT KIT AND R134A A/C

Comment