Advice on Sound Systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on Sound Systems

I posted this in a dead thread - and since I put some time and effort into writing this I'll post I thought I'd post it where someone might read it.

have done numerous stereo installations that other people have paid me to do. I'm not saying that I am a pro - I'm not. I would just like to offer some advice.

I think that the best quality headunits are
    Kenwood Excelon
    Most Pioneer models
    Most Alpines
    When you choose a headunit , try to pick one with MOSFET circuitry.

For wiring the speakers 18 gauge is sufficient - unless you will be powering your speakers with an amplifier. In that case use 14 gauge. My preference is running speakers off of the headunit and not an amp.

That brings me to a VERY important point - another member said that a speaker with higher power handling capacity does not necessarily sound better - and he is sooooo right.
    Too many people think "ok , i'll get these 200 watt 6x9's and they will kick ass" . These high watt speakers are designed for use with an amplifier, not soley the headunit.

If your headunit has for instance 50x4 watt - this translates into 25 watts rms power per channel. A 200 watt 6x9 has about 100 watt rms. (usaully rms - continous power- is half of max). When you have a 100 watt rms speaker connected to a headunit pushing 25 watts rms - the speaker is not going to sound anywhere near as good as it SHOULD -. In this situation - when you crank the volume all the way up - it's not the speakers distorting , it's actually the signal from the headunit. Plus, underpowering speakers can damage them. It's worse for a speaker to be underpowered than overpowered.

Kicker , Pioneer and JVC to name a few all have low watt speakers available that when hooked up to just the head unit will sound great. Power matching is the name of the game.