Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

FNG with a Wagon

Hey guys,

I've been hanging around CVN since 2003 and I can't believe I never knew about this site. It seems like days go by between new posts in the 5.0/5.8 forums over there. It's great to see how many boxes and overall activity there is on this site. There's even a Wagon forum... awesome!

So a little about me. I got my first GM back in '02 when I inherited my late Grandpas '89. It was a great car but I couldn't take it with me from Calif to Ga. Bummersville, population: me.

But the box bug bit me and I had to have another. I found an ad last August for a running/driving '88 GM with 98k for $400. I called right away. It turned out to be a really decent Colony Park (wasn't expecting that!) that has spent it's entire life in South Ga. I got every piece of documentation possible for the car including the original window sticker.

Once I scrubbed off the old man funk, it was solid but rough at the same time. Totally solid body, literally zero rust anywhere, but needed a bunch of mechanical fixes, and it had several electrical gremlins. I rebuilt all the window motors, replaced the lock actuators, the fuel sending unit, alternator, radiator, water pump, t-stat, injectors, hoses, belts, all tune-up stuff, rewired the tow-package harness, full brake rebuilds front and rear, all 4 shocks, IAC, PCV, P/S hoses and lines, upper and lower intake gaskets, a throttle body rebuild and even head gaskets. I replaced a bunch of auto-climate control related parts and a whole bunch of interior trim stuff. I then painted it black, installed a set of 01 Explorer 16's and lowered the front 3". Total investment including home garage paintjob... $1250.00. I've put on 5k miles (including a 1300 mile trip) without a hiccup so far. How cool is that?

Anyhow, sorry about the novel, I'm excited to be here. Looking forward to getting to know you all!
    sigpic

Ted
    '88 Merc Longroof
    Wood stickers rule.

to GMN!