Need help - Posi rear end

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help - Posi rear end

First of all, im a huge noob so dont laugh..

Looking to upgrade the rear end in my car to something posi, i was thinking of posting up an add looking for a trac-loc rear end but what do i look for? Any specifics to fit on my 97 grand marquis? Also, what would i need just for a posi rear end? Also, could this be done for less then $300ish?
    79 Grand Marquis

I think a K code rear is what you're after but I could be wrong.
    sigpic

- 1990 Ford LTD Crown Victoria P72 - the street boat - 5.0 liter EFI - Ported HO intake/TB, 90 TC shroud/overflow, Aero airbox/zip tube, Cobra camshaft, 19lb injectors, dual exhaust w/ Magnaflows, Cat/Smog & AC delete, 3G alternator, MOOG chassis parts & KYB cop shocks, 215/70r/15s on 95-97 Merc rims

- 2007 Ford Escape XLT - soccer mom lifted station wagon - 3.0 Duratec, auto, rear converter delete w/ Magnaflow dual exhaust

- 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis Ultimate Edition - Daily driver - 4.6 2 valve Mod motor, 4R75E, 2.73s. Bone stock

Comment

Need list of what i'd need to buy as well, like, what parts i would need to do the swap.
      79 Grand Marquis

Comment

Eaton sells an 8.8 limited slip diff for our axles 21 spline? its like 350 bucks though, but its new. Im not sure what to look for in a junk yard.
        "Shakedown"- 1991 Grand Marquis GS Dual exhaust, Magnaflow xl turbos, Rear anti sway bar, Outlaw 1 wheels, 43k miles
        1985 GMC 1500

Comment

Summit sells a brand new complete 28 spline track lok carrier for around 200.
          2020 F250 - 7.3 4x4 CCSB STX 3.55's - BAKFlip MX4
          2005 Grand Marquis GS - Marauder sway bars, Marauder exhaust, KYB's
          2003 Marauder - Trilogy # 8, JLT, kooks, 2.5" exhaust, 4.10's/31 spline, widened rear's, metco's, addco's, ridetech's 415hp/381tq