Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good jack-stand recommendations?

Couldn't find a better place to put this thread or I would've

I'm obviously going to need a real one or several for the stuff I plan to do with my car.

If possible:
    I want one(s) that works good on a non flat surface, as I will probably be doing most of my work in my driveway, and also small and convenient to store, there's not much room in my garage to store it because my mom parks her car in there.

Also should be easy to use if they're not usually because I've never used one before
    2002 Crown Victoria LX - 124K miles

Rhino ramps?

-ryan s.
    08 Lincoln Navigator L - 233k
    03 Mercury Marauder- 63k
    97 Ford Crown Victoria HPP "Tank of Justice III" (TOJ3) - 194k -->578.9 miles on ONE tank of gas<--
    94 BMW 325i Convertible - 135k
    73 VW Super Beetle "Bunky" <----- Wifey's
    12 Mini Cooper S - 90k <---- Wifey's
    Originally posted by pantera77
    Well my buddy tells him he knows exactly who loves buying shitboxes.

Comment

be careful mang
      1988 MGM GS - Preferred Equipment Package 172A; InstaClear

1980 Lincoln Continental Coupe
      1994 MGM GS Montigua
      2005 F150 Lariat Scab 4x4 3.73 LS
      2002 Mustang GT Coupe

Comment

I saw a neat Instructables or something where a guy made his own nonadjustable jackstands out of some 3.5" tubing he got cheap from a scrapyard. He made his stands with three legs so they'll still sit nicely on uneven surfaces, and cut them to a height he found convenient.

Ramps work good so long as you're careful, but not a lot of options in terms of height, and I've had traction problems (both tire-to-ramp and ramp-to-pavement) that made getting on them aggravating at times. Don't lose the little rubber blocks that like to jump out and fall into a black hole.