Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about suspension on my 97 Grand Marquis.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about suspension on my 97 Grand Marquis.

First of all, I'm no mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. That's my excuse for having taken two weeks to notice that my suspension is not what I thought it would be. There...I feel better already. So, without further ado, this idiot has a question for you:

Does anyone have any idea what the suspension-code on my door sticker means? Under the "SPR" header it says "43KK". I've done a search and checked out someone's handy-dandy door-sticker decoder, but that particular code isn't covered. If anyone has the same code, perhaps they could tell me what type of rear-suspension they've got in their chariot?

Click image for larger version

Name:	DoorSticker.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	1297921

I suspect that it came from the factory with air-ride suspension, but that it was replaced with non-air suspension as there are big springs above the wheels. Not that I mind really; the ride is nice and smooth (makes the little shitbox I was driving before I got this beauty feel like a skateboard by comparison) and it'll be a LOT cheaper to fix should I run into problems down the road. I couldn't figure out why the air-ride switch in the trunk was missing from its housing until now. I figured the housing was either there for future suspension upgrades or the suspension had been downgraded. Either way, I'm curious as to what the "43KK" code on the door-sticker means.

Thanks!

Click image for larger version

Name:	MyBaby.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	180.3 KB
ID:	1297920

it has something to do with the springs, usually it tells you what spring rate is in the car but I don't know what the codes mean exactly.