2001 GM misfiring - Parts store says it's a bad coil pack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2001 GM misfiring - Parts store says it's a bad coil pack

My 2001 GM that has been sputtering/missing for the past year has gotten much worse lately. Finally a CEL came on so I took it to Auto Zone. They scanned it and said the #1 cylinder has a bad pack. Ok, makes sense. But before I buy a pack I have been reading up on the topic, some say it may not be the pack but water/AF in the well. Is this a possible option? I'll buy and replace if it's needed but is it worth checking prior to buying the pack? Mind you, I don't have another car so if I disassemble and then need it, I'll have to bike about 10 miles round trip to the store (also not a problem cuz I bike to work 14 miles most days)

Next question is how do I go about replacing the pack, I've never done one before on an ignition type like this... with the rail and all. I am sure I can do it with the good prior knowledge. Apparently #1 is front left. Car has about 90k on it.

Thx in advance.
    '01 Mercury Grand Marquis GS 4.6L
    '01 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L

These cars, from '98 on are WELL-known for misfiring due to bad coil-packs. Just replace the coil pack. It's much more likely than anything else.
    Slicktop '91 GS HO 4.30 rear. '82 Mark VI Tudor HO, '90 F-150 XLT, '62 project Heep, '89 Arizona Waggin' and '88 donor in PA, getting combined.

Comment

http://www.crownvic.net/ubbthreads/u...Number=2259797 Last post on the page. Go to it, son!
      Slicktop '91 GS HO 4.30 rear. '82 Mark VI Tudor HO, '90 F-150 XLT, '62 project Heep, '89 Arizona Waggin' and '88 donor in PA, getting combined.

Comment

It would be my luck the CV site which I have been to before would give me an error here at work. (Interner Explorer issue) I'll check it when I get home. Thx dude!
        '01 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L

Comment