Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Filled gas tank full for the first time I owned it and it's leaking!! Wtf

Group
    Own a 90 wagon that I've been driving daily for about 3 months now .
    Today I filled the tank full since I owned it, and tonight I smell and see fuel dripping down the side near the filler neck.
    Now with a full tank of gas ugh, where do I start..

first... run it down to where it stops leaking so you know you won't flood yourself with gas when you pull the filler neck to replace the grommet. That should be all you need. You may have to loosen the straps on the tank to get it to drop a little on that side for clearance due to the wagon body seams. You may have to drop the tank to get the neck out completely. I don't know where to get the grommet though since I have sedans... I think it's the same one, but I could be mistaken.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Originally posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Originally posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

Comment

yep, start by driving
      86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
      5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC grandpa spec white and cranberry

1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

Originally posted by phayzer5
      I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

Comment

I had this same problem! Twice...