Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1,000$ budget , one 1985 Gand marquis 302 5.0 and no idea

and more

I have been visiting this site for awhile now and i finally got my own screen name . i have a 1985 Grand marquis e.f.i 302 5.0, i'll get right to the point i want to beef up the merck but i only have 1,000 bucks and i dont have to be concerned about emissions b/c i live in s. Florida. i need to figure out what would be my best way to tackle this issue i have heard somay different things. So, far i figured i would start with dual pipes and make my own custom intake b/c it seems like there isnt anything already pre-made i dont have a big budget and i'm a college student with a "great" granddad that is very smart and knows more then i do as far as mechincal no how , What should i do ?

Just give me a list remember my cap is 1,000$ 1985 merck 302 stock 5.0

:guns: :guns: :chainsaw: :chainsaw:

1. I just need an idea of how to approach the situation. !

2. I need to make a street/strip chevy caprice cereal killer. !

Comment

Welcome!

dual exhaust
      ditch the cfi for a real carb
      does your car have a k-code rear end? if not that would be a nice upgrade as well

and once again, Welcome to GMN!
      Save a seal, club a liberal.

Comment

Agreed with above. You can get a junkyard K-code, run some cheap duals, and do a carb swap, all for under 1000 bucks if you are frugal....

Just make sure if you get a different intake and a 4bbl carb, to get the lokar cables (Trans/Throttle) to make it work right.

And welcome to GMN! Im from FL too! (North tho)
        1983 Grand Marquis 2Dr Sedan "Mercules"
        Tremec TKO conversion, hydraulic clutch, HURST equipped!

Comment

yes. if you want power, didtch the CFI. youll never make it unless you get into silly shit.

ditch the AC and the smog pump first. then get dual exhaust and the K code rear. If you got enough $$ left and can do it yourself (they only way to keep it under cost) then do the carb swap.