Brake lines, need tips and advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Brake lines, need tips and advice

I've never done brake lines before. I picked up today at AutoZone 2 60" lengths of 3/16 brake line, a tubing cutter, and a flare tool. Neither tool I know how to use and the instructions are very lacking when it comes to instructions. There's also nothing in my manuals. The cutter for the most part appears self-explanitory but my main concern is the flaring tool. How exactly do I use it? Next up, do you guys have any tricks or suggestions to make reaching the distribution block on top of the differential easier? Thanks in advance!
    Save a seal, club a liberal.

Dont cut and flare any of the lines! they are already flared for you on both ends, I would measure what you need and buy lines closer to the right size. The line doesnt have to be exactly the right length, you can bend a dip in it to take up some slack. they also dont have to sit exactly the same way they did, just so long as they are out of the way of anything that moves and wont get snagged.

i would jack up the body just high enough to almost get the rear wheels off the ground and hold it up with jackstands. that ought to give you enough room to turn wrenches, but you might have to 'see' with your hands. Also get some line wrenches to use if you dont have any.

To use the pipe bender, just lay the tubing over the round part and brace one end against the end sticking out. then use your hand to gently bend the line around the tool. test fit - bend - test fit - bend and so on, then fasten each side once you have the right shape.

good luck!
    Pete ::::>>> resident LED addict and CFI defector LED bulb replacements
    'LTD HPP' 85 Vic (my rusty baby) '06 Honda Reflex 250cc 'Baileys' 91 Vic (faded cream puff) ClifFord 'ODB' 88 P72 (SOLD) '77 LTDII (RIP)
    sigpic