PDA

View Full Version : {DRIVETRAIN}Found a K code!!

Cogs
12-03-2004, 01:11 AM
..but have no way to get it out or home. :confused: My brother has a truck, but he usually isnt home or willing to help. It's the ONLY K code rear in the junkyard I go to, and it just came in today. Do K codes have bigger rear brakes or anything else different on the axle? Or could I just take the gears and trac loc unit out?

Cogs
12-03-2004, 01:23 AM
Okay, I just decided, I'm just going to take the Trac loc and gears. Anyone done this? How hard is it, how long will it take, what tools do I need? I've never done it before obviously.

Grand Marquis GT
12-03-2004, 01:48 AM
They got 11" drums, compared to 10" stock..

Mercracer
12-03-2004, 04:24 PM
Okay, I just decided, I'm just going to take the Trac loc and gears. Anyone done this? How hard is it, how long will it take, what tools do I need? I've never done it before obviously.

Easy as cake. Bring a 1 1/16 socket and a big breaker bar for the pinion nut. A big pipe wrench is helpful to hold the yoke in place. You can also screw 2 bolts back into the yoke face and use a bar between them to hold the yoke.
You will need a 5/16 socket to get the bolt holding the diff pin in. With the pin out, shove one axle in at a time, pull out the C-Clip (a thin magnet works well, or a needle nose pliers) and remove the axle. Then remove the diff bearing caps and use a pry bar to pop the diff out. With the diff out of the way and the pinion yoke removed, the pinion will come out through the diff housing.
Keep track of the 2 shims between the diff and housing, one on each side.

Ifixyawata
12-04-2004, 02:00 AM
Isn't installing gears a PITA, at least regarding clerances and all that shit you need a micrometer and feeler guages for?

Cogs
12-04-2004, 02:05 AM
That doesnt sound easy as cake. I'm confused already. lol. Maybe I'll just try to get the whole axle.

Ifixyawata
12-04-2004, 02:21 AM