5.0 turd

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

5.0 turd

I am new to the hole Ford game so please go easy on me!!OK I have an 88 MGM wagon w/5.0 and it move about as fast as tree sap in Jan. Now how much can I gain just from installing a Mustang tb and duals?? or would I be wasting my time and $$$$$ witch I am short on both?? Any help would be great!!! THANKS
    '88' MGM wagon (mine and my sons toy)
    "60" chrysler New Yorker (my project)
    "78" Chevy 1 Ton P/U (yard horse)
    "01" Ford Explorer (wifes DD)
    "93" Chevy Suburban (my DD)

if you get the mustang throttle body, you'll have to modify it to get the proper cable connections and get the same size egr spacer, and the upper intake plenum. Just putting on dual exhaust and some high flow cats (or no cats if you're in an area that doesn't care about emissions) will do small wonders with that car.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)

Originally posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.

Originally posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

Comment

yeah, you're on the right track with duals. I believe the stock/parts store exhaust formula is something like: Mustang shorty headers, downpipes, catted (or non-catted, epecially if you're ditching the smog pump) H-pipe, and then 94-96 Impala SS tailpipes. Some persuasion may be necessary.

Going to the stock dual exhaust gave an extra 10HP according to ford, so figure on about a 15-20HP gain for a decent custom dual exhaust system, potentially more with the shorty headers.