Time for Timing Chain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Time for Timing Chain

My CFI 85 Vic has about 120k miles on it, and from what I've read, the stock timing chains are only usually good till about 100k

The car has been idling rough and hard to start for a bit, and lately the idle has gotten rougher.

I'm not 100% its the timing chain, but I'm sure it cant hurt to get a fresh one.

To anyone who has swapped the timing chain before, which chain set should i get?

Also, I have never done this before, so any help as to what problems to expect would be great

THANKS!!
    1985 LTD Crown Victoria - Currently restoring after she caught fire! CFI to SEFI to Carb swap, all custom wiring, Duraspark 2 ignition, Motorcraft 2100 Carb, slicktop, Shorty headers dumped before rear axle, 140 Speedo, 3G alt, And currently building an engine for her.

2000 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series - 165XXX, PI intake swap , 30 MPG Easy on the Highway, All options except dual exhaust. Currently looking for 2 front seats: Heated, Memory, and Light Graphite color!!