Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

steel vs. aluminum drive-shaft (revisited)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

steel vs. aluminum drive-shaft (revisited)

Searched and found outdated info.

Are there any updated benefits or issues with the steel-to-aluminum drive-shaft swap? (Yes, I know you have to change the flange.)

If you were to spend a fair amount of time at the 1/4 mile drag strip, which drive-shaft would you say is better? Will the aluminum hold up just as well as the steel?

All relevant info is appreciated.

The only thing I can tell you about the aluminum is that they tend to vibrate less, though in the 1/4 I highly doubt that matters any. I have heard it postulated that the reduced mass of the aluminum shaft gives you a slight advantage with acceleration by reducing the amount of rotating mass in the driveline that must be accelerated, however I don't know if thats BS or reality. It sounds like it makes sense, but I'm no engineer.
    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC grandpa spec white and cranberry

1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

Originally posted by phayzer5
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

Comment

That should work because there will be less mass to get moving, However would you notice it? I have no idea. I honestly would have to figure out the forces required to start each in motion based off of there individual weights, and I haven't the least idea were to start with that, However im guessing i would need to go from rotations to radians a second yada yada, throw in some force equations and vector projections and bada bing. I can't wait for college.