Towing capacity q's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Towing capacity q's

I know my 03 Sport is rated to tow around 1500lbs. My question is, what is the max tounge weight the car will support? Or is this more based on the class of trailer hitch I get?

I'm a newb to trailers/towing and just looking for some imput. I have the opportunity to buy my buddies pop-up camper and am just trying to get ideas on what my limits are as far as suspension/towing cap. go. I plan on adding a big trans cooler, j-mod, etc. to handle the extra weight if I buy the camper.

Any experiences/suggestions would be welcome (and no, buying a truck is NOT an option at this point, so let's not go there, lol...)

Jay
    These are highly engineered precision vehicles, the first step in diagnosing the problem is to strike the suspected offending part sharply and repeatedly with a blunt object, then re-test.

They were rated to tow 5500#s back in the 80's before they quit rating them. SLYDAWG used to tow his full weight 80GM wagon with a 91 GM wagon 1000 miles round trip from central FL to Atlanta GA
    http://secondhandracing.com/Home.aspx
    http://secondhandradio.com/

R.I.P. Jason P Harrill 6-12-06

http://www.grandmarq.net/vb/showthread.php?t=5634

Comment

Yea, ignore that 1500 lb rating, they can tow much more than that, Just do some upgrades and you'll be fine.

The 1500 lbs is all part of the towing conspiracy crap...
      2000 Grand Marquis LS
      2000 F150 XLT 6 inches of lift.
      1987 Bill Blass Mark VII - Sold
      1985 Mercury Grand Marquis Colony Park- SOLD. to a little old lady
      Mercury Owners Group member
      Save The Whales, Restore an Old Station Wagon!!

Comment

I've towed Towncars on a dolly with my Towncar more than once. You have better brakes than a box, so you should be fine with ~5000 or so.
        86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).