Suspension setup for extreme handling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suspension setup for extreme handling

Alright gentlemen, call me crazy or ignorant but lets talk about what can be done to our cars to address the handling of these cars. I know we are able to add 03+ CV parts to our cars to help and the use of aftermarket springs and shocks. But what if we could fabricate new K members, control arms ect... and get more from our cars?

A little backround on me. I am an accomplished and certified welder and fabricator who recently opened my own welding repair and fabrication business. I have most of my own equipement as far as welders go, including a tig machine. I have access to everything else I would need, Bridgeports, lathes, brakes, shears, tube benders...you name it. I have a great ability to run these machines too. Things have been going decently I suppose, I have work and am keeping busy. I dont have alot of money but I guess thats how it goes. My race box has been kinda stalled due to the fact I cant insure the car affordably and has crappy tires so I dont want to drive it much. Im proud of the motor I built and how it runs but so many other things need improvement such as steering, rear axle and suspension.

I'd like to take a new approach to my car and make it more enjoyable to drive and able to do different events with the car rather than have a single purpose car. Drag racing is nice but I think I'd have much more fun taking the car to a road course or autocross events and competeing. Even more so I'd like to be able to get the car to some land speed racing events. I've looked into different mods i can do with junk yard vic parts but I've also noticed our cars are extremely simmilar to GM g body cars and even some A body stuff. Some differences exist, but wouldnt it be great if we could tap into all that aftermarket equipment or build one off componets?