introduction and a few questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

introduction and a few questions

hi my name is chris and i am an allignment tech in MA. i recently purchased a 1999 grand maquis gs w/ 65,000 miles for $1200 dollars. I do have a basic a car knowledge, but it doesnt really go past routine service. ive posted these questions in other forms but didnt get answers probally becasue there on stickys allready.

question #1

i recently put a set of rims on the car, tire dimensions are, front 245/35R20 and the rears are 285/30R20, i dont have a rubbing problem i just dont like the way the car stands. here is a picture

i would like to lower it 1.5 inches front and rear but cannot find parts to do so i would like anyones advice on this because i know the car would look much better that way.

question #2

im interested in in a 3.73:1 ring and pinion swap, i have percission trac on my car and need it to be active because i hydroplane like crazy from the width of my rear wheels, if i swap the gears and change to a stronger police interceptor drive shaft will i need further parts for this system to work correctly?

welcome to gmn chris!

you might want to use speedway motors circle track springs to lower the car..........i mainly work on the boxes, so i'm not 100% sure how much they will lower the car

you can install 3.73 gears and the pi driveshaft, but you will need a sct tuner to correct the speedo or you wont be able to go over 90 mph with the 3.73's

1986 lincoln towncar signature series. 5.0 HO with thumper performance ported e7 heads, 1.7 roller rockers, warm air intake, 65mm throttle body, 1/2" intake spacer, ported intakes, 3.73 rear with trac lock, 98-02 front brake conversion, 92-97 rear disc conversion, 1" rear swaybar, 1 3/16" front swaybar, 16" wheels and tires, loud ass stereo system, badass cb, best time to date 15.94 at 87 mph. lots of mods in the works 221.8 rwhp 278 rwt
    2006 Lincoln Town Car Signature. Stock for now