{BRAKES} front brakes -- '85 CV

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

{BRAKES} front brakes -- '85 CV

This is for the '85 CV I bought. It needs front brakes. When I braked, there was a vibration in the pedal and I could feel it in the steering wheel if I braked harder.

I've never done brakes before. Can someone give me a walk-through on replacing the front brakes. I won't know what all needs to be done 'til I pull the wheels off, but I assume it'll need new pads and rotors turned.

How do I get the rotors off? Will I need any special tools? Will bearings need to be done at the same time? Can anyone describe the process of bleeding the brakes? All info is appreciated.

ok justin, the reason it shakes when you are braking is because the front brake rotors are warped.......they will have to be resurfaced if they are thick enough, or replaced

ok i will walk u thru replacint the pads and rotors
    1: jack vehicle and remove front wheels
    2: take a large screwdriver or prybar and push the brake caliper pistons in (or you can skip this step and push the pistons in with a c clamp......i find doing it on the car is faster lol)
    3: remove the two caliper retaining bolts (clean these up and use some brake slide grease on em when u put them back)
    4 pull the calipers off the rotors, and remove the old brake pads
    5: to remove rotors:
    5a: remove the dust caps with a pair of channelocks
    5b: remove the cotter pin and castle nut
    5c remove the nut and the outer wheel bearing, put the nut back on, and pull out on the rotor, just catching the inner bearing, and slam it off quiclly.....this breals the seal on the back of the rotor free.
    5d: take the nut off, and remove the inner bearing and seal
    6:
    to reassemble
    get two new front axle seals, and get the rotors cut or replace them
    clean all the old grease off the old bearings, and repack with fresh wheel bearing grease