Cleaning EGR ports

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cleaning EGR ports

First off let me introduce myself, as this is my first post on GMN.
    My name is Blake and my daily driver is a 1994 Grand marquis LS, she's not in the best shape ever but has a super straight body and the biggest rust spot on it is about the size of a pin head so I would like to keep her running as well as possible.

Tomorrow I'm going to clean my EGR ports and throttle body (providing the weather is dry) and I can't seem to find the torque specs for the TB/upper plenum bolts in my haynes manual, so if anyone has those I would love to share in that knowledge.

Also I figured I might as well port the upper plenum while it's off and, being that I've never done anything of the sort before, I have a few questions:
    Should I take it all the way out to the gasket? Would the expansion/compression of air from the throttle body through the upper plenum cause more turbulence than the small notch that would be there if I didn't bring it out and just cleaned up the molding imperfections?
    I don't want to mess with it if it won't help, so I'd like to know the best procedure (if there is one).

Thanks in advance and I hope that you guys will be as much help with my GM as the guys at allpar were with my Imperial. </3 RIP ):
    Even more than that; I hope I can help one of you one day (I know, it's unlikely...) Cheers!

Sure. Port it out to the gasket. That all aluminum intake sucks ass all ready. It could use a boost.
    I don't have the torque specs. But I'd make sure that it's snug.
    Welcome!!!

-ryan s.
    08 Lincoln Navigator L - 233k
    03 Mercury Marauder- 63k
    97 Ford Crown Victoria HPP "Tank of Justice III" (TOJ3) - 194k -->578.9 miles on ONE tank of gas<--
    94 BMW 325i Convertible - 135k
    73 VW Super Beetle "Bunky" <----- Wifey's
    12 Mini Cooper S - 90k <---- Wifey's
    Originally posted by pantera77