multiple question post

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

multiple question post

im pretty new to working on these cars so i have a couple questions.

1. I did a little searching but didnt come up with much, what would be the easiest way to change the spark plugs? i noticed that it looks like the fuel rail sits right on top of them on the drivers side. any insite on this?

2. I need to replace the water pump, what do i need to do to take the fan off? any special tools for that?

3. Does anyone have a diagram for the serpintine belt? i think im missing something or the belt is to long?

Sorry if these have already been asked, i'll do some more searching though.

what car is this again?

ah... 93. Scott has my 93 in his possession... so a belt diagram won't be forthcoming from me. Maybe Scott can take a pic (or someone else that has a 93 or similar 4.6L)

the water pump will need a special tool just to get the fan off. I saw one at Scott's when I was there recently. Or a large wrench avle to get around that huge 6 sided shaft with a long enough arm to whack it with a hammer (more than one whack will probably be needed to get it going... but it should spin off nicely after that). You will need the belt to be on to do this though.

The spark plugs are pretty easy to get to on the passenger side. The driver side just needs the big plastic part of the intake removed. The hose clamps are part of the equation, there's a couple of mounting bolts for that huge plastic section on the area near the throttle body (typically broken if someone removed it half assed and didn't remove those screws). All you really need is a 6 inch extension to clear the fuel rails. you may need to wiggle a bit to get around them... but it should clear fine.
    Last edited by sly; 10-19-2011, 01:08 PM.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein