1990 Mercury Grand Marquis n00b questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1990 Mercury Grand Marquis n00b questions

Last year we bought our car for $1K from a family friend. It was in so-so condition. I've never worked on a car before but I'm wanting to get it into a much better condition than we received it.

Over the past four months, my oil light has been flickering when the car is in idle. Today, I learned how to change the oil and replace the oil sensor. Doctor Google lead me to wonder if it was the oil pressure sending unit, but I cannot find where this is at all Anyone experience a flickering oil light while idling?

We discovered where I was leaking antifreeze and refilled those fluids, apparently my head gaskets need replaced. Then, when going for a test drive the heater control valve blew for the second time in six months. These are all fairly basic repair needs.

Another issue has been my A/C and heating. The A/C is fully charged, but when we try to use it the only thing that comes out is super heated air. Sometimes it seems to flip the heater on, which during the heat of summer was miserable to say the least. Any ideas?

Oil light flicker is not unheard of on those motors. It means you have about 6 or so pounds of oil pressure. They have been known to run for a long time in that condition. Does it go off when you give it some gas?
    1990 MGM: $50 E7 heads, HO cam, Holley SysteMAX lower intake, HO upper intake with an Explorer TB. LSC ECM. Lincoln logs into stock dual exhaust. K&N drop in air filter. Wide ratio AOD, 2400 converter with a 3.08 one tire fire out back. Car is less slow now. Then there's the '92 Beater. Dual 2.25" exhaust with shiny tips. Rumbles nice. Super slow. Burns oil too.

Comment

Originally posted by HiFiMerc View Post