Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello!

Hello all!

The name is Ashley and I'm a newbie to this site. I heard about this site through the boyfriend and fellow forum member DerekTheGreat and thought that I'd join in on the fun.

I am the very proud owner of a 1989 Lincoln Town Car with 88k miles on the clock!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140330_134556881_HDR.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	128.2 KB
ID:	1302669

A little about me:
    I'm very interested in all things cars and love scourging the junkyards on weekends and learning all I can about them. I have a love of the classics and there isn't a car I'd rather have. Give me something old any day of the week!
    DerekTheGreat can attest to my inexperience with vehicles. Just ask him about the wrench/ratchet issue we had back when I knew nothing.
    I've learned how to do a lot of vehicle maintenance and some vehicle repairs in the past year and am anxious to learn more as time progresses. To me, there is nothing better than fixing something that just isn't quite right and getting it to run as smooth as possible.

My Current Issue:
    I'm having an issue when starting my car, both when it's from a cold start and when it's already warmed up. 9 out of 10 times when I go to start her up, I have to hold it for roughly 5 seconds before it will finally start up.
    Anyone out there have any takes on what could be causing this as well potential solutions? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Ashley
    1989 Lincoln Town Car

Welcome to the site!

Your issue may be a bad TFI module. I had a bad one on my car and it caused similar problems. They're one of the weaker links in the ignition system

1989 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series | 249k miles, current project car
    2018 BMW 430i xDrive M-Sport | 50k miles
    2018 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport | 97k miles

Comment

Welcome!

Any error codes?