Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

It's time for rear discs, got a few questions.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

It's time for rear discs, got a few questions.

I read through an older thread about putting a different rear on a box and just wanted to make sure I'm clear.
    In the thread it said you can use the hard line that is on a box and flare the ends to connect to the flex lines for the calipers, what size/type is that flare?
    I have never done brake lines before, but it doesn't seem that difficult(famous last words...).
    I only noticed today that the lines are quite different when I pulled the rear out of my '89, the rear I have from a '97 has no lines on it(just the e-brake cable and ABS sensor wiring came with it).
    My car had a single connection in the middle to both sides, would that be good to go with the rear discs?
    I also rounded off the fitting to the rear, I guess taking something apart that had been connected for 27 years is not always gonna come out perfect. I want to replace that fitting too, it would just mean nipping the very end of the line off and putting a new fitting on then flaring it, right?
    1989 Country Squire - Twilight Blue, 347 stroker

2005 Crown Victoria Sport - Black - Stainless Works full exhaust with Borla Pro XS mufflers, BBK 75mm TB, Accufab plenum, CVPI airbox, Heinous control arms, etc...

The hoses attached to your disc brake calipers want to see 10mm fitting with a bubble flare from the steel line going into them. You'll have to buy said fittings from a parts store if you didn't grab some from your donor vehicle. The bubble flare calls for its own tool to make it, there are ways to cheat but you're on your own to figure them out, you can probably guess why that is.