PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 55

Thread: Intellitronix Gauges in a box Vic? (86)

  1. #1

    Default Intellitronix Gauges in a box Vic? (86)

    Hey guys. After having my crown Victoria do a lot of crazy things before its engine died and flashed the light of death.. I kind of want to know what the hell is going on with the new engine I am throwing in. I always dug the digital gauges the Lincolns got and such.

    When putting custom gauges into a box is there anything I need to be wary of. Also how do I remove the gauge cluster. I removed the screws yet it ain't budging so that's a thing.

  2. #2
    Stow It! GM_Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,902

    Default

    If you are at the stage where you can wiggle the instrument cluster, you will need to reach up behind the cluster to squeeze the speedo cable retainer, and while holding that, pull the cluster away. If its never been apart, it will put up a bit of a fight.

    Alex.

  3. #3
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    17,318

    Default

    Its easy to remove the cluster when you know how to do it. Like what was said above....reach up FAR behind the dash and feel for the speedometer cable. Push up on the tab and in the pull out and in one motion. Then SLOWLY pull the cluster away and attack the harness that clips in. Next up is the shift indicator. That will most likely break when trying to squeeze it between the shift tube to remove it from the car.


    Why are your removing the cluster?
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  4. #4

    Default

    Too take measurements and see what size gauges I can purchase. I'm eyeballing a couple on eBay that are digital and would actually give me some valid information other than the "We're fucked!" Engine light Can provide. My avatar should give an idea of why I want extra gauges to go with the new motor I purchased.

    The only thing that leaves me scratching my head is the gear sector. Not exactly sure how I'm going to pull that off.

  5. #5

  6. #6

    Default

    Cluster is 14x5 1/4, I measured it yesterday...thinking about doing things...
    1989 Country Squire - Twilight Blue, 111k miles, towing package with 3.55 trac-lok...347 stroker


    2005 Crown Victoria Sport - Black - Stainless Works full exhaust with Borla Pro XS mufflers, BBK 75mm TB, Accufab plenum, CVPI airbox, Heinous control arms, etc...

  7. #7

    Default

    I think I figured out something. Since the LED light kits I am looking at come with a smoked piece of acrylic and seeing through this is an issue. My brain thought what If you were to just wire up an LED to the sector slider to illuminate which one it's over.

    Hope I worded that correctly.

  8. #8

    Default

    Well I jumped on a create a dash kit.

    by http://m.ebay.com/itm/Create-A-Dash-...=1360167019020

    Not something I need, but it is something I do want.

  9. #9

    Default

    Got my cluster out without breaking a thing! Now for some questions. Has anybody attempted putting in these digital gauges? I noticed the simple ribbon cable with a copper backing which is very easy to sodder too. ( modified a few things in the past that use this basic cable style.)

    I know nothing about what inputs go to the original gauges. So I am not entirely sure which digital gauges I can simply wire to the original harness and call it a day.

    I have A mph gauge with built in turn signals and trip meter. (Turn signals I presume I can just wire to the original location. And it comes with a transmission sensor.

    Tach ( not 100% sure how I'm going to wire up this )

    Oil. ( came with sensor.. Could I just replace the sensor and use the original wiring going to the dead engine light?)

    Volts..( I presume I could feed off of the amps light right?)

    Fuel. (Comes with a built in resistor this I am positive I can wire up to the factory location.)

    Temp. (Once again not sure)

    Also anybody know how to remove the speedometer units from the face plate. Mine works perfectly fine I just want more information at any given time . if somebody needs the fuel gauge or even the speedometer with a face plate just let me know. I just want a face plate. Hell it can be missing everything since the only thing I am retaining is the shift selector.
    Last edited by DrHax; 03-19-2017 at 03:25 PM.

  10. #10
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,183

    Default

    Here's what I came up with for '89 (since I don't have an '86 EVTM), it should be the same for '86 for the most part.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Intellitronix_for_89_CV.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	39.0 KB 
ID:	47287 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	89_MGM_CV_Cluster_Pinout.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	281.0 KB 
ID:	47288

    For quick reference I labeled the wires 1-11 in the diagram from your instructions.

    For the connections, it looks like your assumptions are correct and most of them can be made at the stock instrument cluster connector (C400), except for wire 3, 11, and most likely 8.

    Wire 3 will connect to the output of the VSS. You shouldn't need the sensor that came with the kit but you will need to find where to tap into the VSS output. Assuming '86 and '89 are the same, pin 3 at the ECM would work, but my assumption may be wrong.

    Wire 11 you will need to run to the green wire at the coil.

    Also wire 8 I don't think will be connected to the stock cluster connector, but you don't actually need that unless it's too bright for you at night. If it is too bright I think you would tap into the output of the headlamp switch but I'm not certain of the details. Wire 8 only senses when the headlamps are on and dims the gauge lighting when the headlights are on.

    I wasn't able to find which pin the HI beam indicator+ is on the cluster connector but you can trace that on the back of the cluster pretty easy.

    Other than the speed sensor, replace the stock sensors like you were thinking.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - I'll fix it eventually
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  11. #11

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpeg 
Views:	29 
Size:	961.2 KB 
ID:	47289

    Nice to know this seems a lot easier then I was expecting!

    Here's a crappy quick mock of what I've done. Turns out I can most likely use the original turn signals and the shift selector I will most likely wire an led light to the gauges power so it's always visible if the gauges are on. I think I may end up raiding some cheap ball point Pens for the part you click down to make the buttons uniform and the same height!

    My fiancée thinks the whole idea is stupid and looks so.

  12. #12
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,183

    Default

    I was digging out something for another project I'm working on and happened to find a spare '88-'89 MGM cluster... or what's left of it.
    So I took a look back at the pictures I posted yesterday and made some edits.
    As 87gtVIC pointed out in your other thread, pins 1 and 2 are tied together on the printed circuit on the back of the cluster so (if you're solderig right to the printed circuit like you said) you will need to break the connection between the two like he said.

    Updated diagrams:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Intellitronix_for_89_CV.png 
Views:	22 
Size:	50.4 KB 
ID:	47290 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	89_MGM_CV_Cluster_Pinout.png 
Views:	23 
Size:	316.1 KB 
ID:	47291
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - I'll fix it eventually
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  13. #13

    Default

    Thank you so much for your help! I was trying to dig through my service manuals but I was finding nothing only on how to remove the cluster. Good thing about pin 1 and 2.

    I got the gauges mounted now I just need to make the cover for the dash and see where I need to trim.

  14. #14
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,183

    Default

    The service manual doesn't usually have as much detail as the Electrical and Vacuum Troubleshooting Manual (EVTM) when it comes to electrical stuff. Although there was at least one instance where I found better detail in the Service Manual, so both are good to have around for electrical mods but the majority (if not all) of what you need will be in the EVTM.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - I'll fix it eventually
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  15. #15

    Default

    For the VSS the car is getting an HO swap ( because of me purchasing the wrong motor.) going to be swapping with a ds9 ECM. Now what is the VSS? I saw mention of it with the service manual. I know in 1986 the cruise control is standalone, what exactly does the VSS do?

  16. #16
    GMN Regular DerekTheGreat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    4,023

    Default

    IIRC the VSS sends the vehicle speed to the computer, which does something with it. You could use that signal for your speedo too. You might also be able to tap the computer's tachometer lead for your tach as well.
    1985 LTD Crown Victoria - SOLD
    1988 Town Car Signature - Current Party Barge

  17. #17
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,183

    Default

    VSS is the Vehicle Speed Sensor. It's mounted on the driver side of your AOD transmission. My '91 uses the same VSS as your '86 but starting in '90 the speedometer is electronic rather than mechanical like the '89 and older panthers. So the '90+ speedometer uses the VSS signal just like your Intellitronix gauge will. I'm not quite sure where to tap into that signal though. I would imagine that the stand alone cruise has an input from the VSS so you can probably just tap that, but I have no idea where that would be. I'm sure someone here does.

    Or like Derek said, tap into that signal at the ECM if it's there.
    Last edited by VicCrownVic; 03-21-2017 at 12:47 PM.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, summer DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe winter DD - I'll fix it eventually
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  18. #18

    Default

    Okay cool. Thank you so much for the information given. This has to be the most helpful place I've ever been too.

  19. #19
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    17,318

    Default

    I found the VSS harness all alone running from the transmission up behind the passengers side of the intake manifold (back of it of course) then over near the booster and into the cabin of the car along with some other wire. Green and black two wire harness on my 87 Crown Victoria if memory serves me right.
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  20. #20

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	90.7 KB 
ID:	47294Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	90.6 KB 
ID:	47295Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	90.7 KB 
ID:	47294Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	90.6 KB 
ID:	47295 here is what I got so far. The gauges are screwed in and mounted. I had to trim quite a bit of the walls and such to make this work. One annoying tidbit the grey wires and their sodder labels on the board aren't labeled like the instructions state they are.....

    I am thinking about wiring the purple wires to pin 16. Not sure if that would work, but eh?


    I'm happy I'm at the point where I don't have the cut plastic with exacto knifes and a drill bit somebody brazed to something during the 1940's anymorel.. Yeah those were my tools during this...

    Trying to figure out the best way to sodder 6 wires to one pin..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net