PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 55 of 55

Thread: Intellitronix Gauges in a box Vic? (86)

  1. #41

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	88.3 KB 
ID:	47326

    Okay I went outside and took a picture of the plug. Annoyingly its sideways, but it appears the car doesn't use wire three on the eec.. or am I misreading the plug. http://www.grandmarq.net/oldfuelinje...ages/eec04.gif

    That is what I found which I am using as a reference.

    Now non of this makes sense in correlation to the data sheets. There's no metal contact for pin three apparently or six.. the only pins used in that row are 1, 4,7 10.

    Umm can any EEC experts shine some light on this?


    Turns out the Lincoln speed density eec doesn't even have those pins used after comparing the charts. Looks like VSS from the eec isn't even used. So now where do I tap this from if there's no VSS via The EEC. Where are the VSS wires going? Time to consult my manuals.
    Last edited by DrHax; 04-01-2017 at 06:30 PM.

  2. #42
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    You are looking at it right. 1, 4, 7, and 10 being the only used pins on that upper left makes sense. 3 must not be used since the cruise control is stand alone on your '86 and the Mark VII; pin 3 would only have VSS signal to it if the cruise was integrated.
    For VSS signal, I would think that the shortest distance to tap would be whatever controls cruise on your '86. Since I have no experience with that setup and don't have an '86 EVTM, I have no idea where that would be.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, alternate DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe Winter DD - Down... again... Fn POS
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting Winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  3. #43
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    18,667

    Default

    For verification... I marked pin 1 on your pic.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	13 
Size:	160.6 KB 
ID:	47327

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  4. #44
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    18,667

    Default

    Also, for VSS signal, you can use the 3-wire connector under the dash for the cruise control that has a black and green/white wire. Tap the green/white wire for the VSS signal.

    for picture references... check this thread... http://www.grandmarq.net/vb/showthre...r-installation.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  5. #45

    Default

    So that module by the brake pedal I mistakenly took for the ECM is in fact the cruise control. thats mighty convenient, good so I know what to look for!

  6. #46

    Default

    Found the wire and slid one into it. I was going to test it to see if the gauges were working but the car was stuck in the mud. It sank in due to all of the rain we've had recently. Sigh...

  7. #47

    Default

    Got the boat out of the mud the green and white wire worked.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0581.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	47329

    Now I am just waiting for the package to arrive so I can work on the engine.

  8. #48
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    18,667

    Default

    The metal "module" is the ECM. You had the correct connector for the ECM and if your car used pin 3, it would have worked for you. But using the cruise module's connection there under the dash is definitely easier as there no wires to run through the firewall.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  9. #49
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    18,667

    Default

    for the tach, you can probably just tap the trigger side of the coil (green wire). Unless yours needs a 5v square wave. If it needs a pulse with no flyback voltage (a clean signal), don't use the coil trigger or you'll blow up the tach. If it can handle that input, you should be fine.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  10. #50

    Default

    The instructions say to wire it up to the coil. So in theory it should work. I just need to run a wire through the firewall.

  11. #51
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    18,667

    Default

    ah... good. It's the better kind then.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  12. #52

    Default

    Found a hole by the door on the passenger side without a plug. Reached into it and felt foam so I ran a wire from the coil through the fender through that hole and under the dash. Now my tach works!

  13. #53
    Approaching 2 decades of DDing Box Panthers VicCrownVic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Shelby Township, MI
    Posts
    2,112

    Default

    Sweet, now we just need a video to see it all in action. (Find a way to mount the camera so that driving is not interfered with; safety first!)

    Very cool project, it really turned out nice.
    Vic

    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis LS "The Scab" - plenty of rot, alternate DD
    ~ 1997 GMC Yukon - wannabe Winter DD - Down... again... Fn POS
    ~ 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis GS "The Ice Car" - My rotting Winter DD
    ~ 1989 Mercury Grand Marquis GS - Rotting Retired DD
    Gone but not forgotten:
    ~ 1988 Country Squire ~ 1987 Ford Crown Vic


  14. #54
    GMN Regular DerekTheGreat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    3,702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by viccrownvic View Post
    sweet, now we just need a video to see it all in action. (find a way to mount the camera so that driving is not interfered with; safety first!)

    very cool project, it really turned out nice.
    x2
    1985 LTD Crown Victoria - SOLD
    1988 Town Car Signature - Current Party Barge

  15. #55

    Default

    Once I get the new engine in and have the correct sensors hooked up. Right now the knocking original engine with a wooping 2035xx miles on it, I am just waiting on parts.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net