New guy, 86 Grand Marquis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New guy, 86 Grand Marquis

Lots of good information here, so i figured i should quit lurking around and introduce myself.
    My name is John, and ill say up front that i am usually a general motors guy, but i enjoy all vehicles (older than around 1995 that is). While i am not a mechanic by trade, I have experience from a very young age. My strong point is wiring/electronics, and my weak point is body work.

I purchased my first "box" a few weeks ago from a family member that has had it for about 3 years, really i have wanted it since he got it. I have always liked the looks and ride these cars have. This one has been sitting for about a year, because nobody could figure out what was wrong with it (missing, no power etc) so i picked it up for almost nothing. It turned out to be a laundry list of issues (return line pinched between tank and body, vacuum leaks, TPS, VERY dirty fuel, etc), but the main one being three bad injectors. I cant remember ever seeing three injectors go bad at the same time, but these did. Probably alot to do with the bad gas. I had some rebuilt 19lb injectors i put in, and even though it is stock other than that, it seems to run fine.

Other than swapping out those wheels that came on it, I am not sure what my future plans are for it. But for now i am going to make it a DD while i think it over.

Thanks to everyone who has contributed all the valuable information contained here, I hope i can Contribute in the future as well.
    Attached Files

Welcome!

These seem to be pretty reliable and the fixes seem to be simple ones but the trouble is having the patience to work out what's going on. Very easy to feel like throwing a Molotov inside when they're not running right or you can't figure out what's going on..

Glad you swapped the wheels out, they don't fit at all haha.

What's the story with the bus???