Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

351w buildup advice

Hello--

I am starting to build up a 351w for my '86 TC. One of my coworkers gave me a freshly machined short block (minus the cam), so I figured, why not throw it in my town car! The PO owns a speed shop, and I took it there last year with the 5.slow on dyno day to see what it would make. I think he would be tickled to see it with a completely different motor making way more power than it did previously.

Anywho, I am new to building up a motor, and could use some advice as to what parts will and won't work together, X would be better than Y, etc... Here is what I have gathered for parts:
    • The 351w is slightly bored over (I think .030") and has dished pistons.
    • I will be using a pair of GT40's until I can afford a nice set of heads. The headbolt holes will need to get drilled out.
    • I am eyeballing a Howards Cam and Lifter set (MC220931-10). 269/269 Adv Duration; 215/215 Duration @ .050"; .475/.475 Lift; 110LC Lobe separation; Says its a strong low and mid-range, fuel efficiency and driveability cam. Thoughts?
    • Adept Performance Products 3/8" Stud 1.7 ratio roller rocker arms. Do I need 7/16"...?
    • Oil pan from rock auto for an early 80's crown vic that came with the 351w
    • Weiand stealth intake with an Edelbrock 1406 (Is there a kit for the TV cable that uses the ball and socket that was only used in '86?)
    • Push rods will need to get measured when the heads are assembled
    • BBK 1511 Swap exhaust headers
    • What thickness head gasket should I get?
    • What springs should I get?

I do appreciate any advice!
    Last edited by SirFoxx; 09-20-2017, 10:00 PM.

Originally posted by SirFoxx View Post
    Hello--