Drivers rear window not working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Drivers rear window not working

So here's the issue. The window worked just fine when I bought the car just under a month ago, I didn't really use it but I ran it up and down a few times since. Last Friday I noticed that it wasn't working at all, and at first I thought it might be the master switch in the drivers door. The other 3 windows work fine and both passenger windows work off both the master switch and their respective switches. When I hit the switch for the rear drivers window either in the drivers door or rear door the interior lights dim slightly, I'm not very good with electrical stuff but I assume this means power is at least getting through the switch. I can't imagine the motor just up and died without going out slowly, I don't know if it's possible for these things to over travel and get stuck or what to look for. I know the boxes were simple as I replaced the bushings in the window motors on my '88 MGM, but I'm guessing the '03 probably has a totally different set up. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    2002 Mercury Grand Marquis LSE, Sylvania Zevo LED Headlights, MSD Blaster Coils, K&N Cold Air Intake, Dual Exhaust, 3.27's - Dally Driver

1983 Lincoln Continental Mark VI, Smog Delete - Summer Cruiser

​

if the lights dim a bit, its probably not an electrical issue. My guess is the window regulator failed somehow. The cables are somewhat known for turning into a bird nest in the jacket and jamming the whole works up.

and yeah, totally different than the 80s stuff. They replaced the big metal rack that would flex the door with this thing that looks like a bicycle brake cable assembly.
    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley