PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: gear change speedometer?

  1. #1

    Question gear change speedometer?

    Changed from 2.72 to 3.27. my speedo is off by 16%. Is the fix a speedo gear or a tuner for an 03 Grand marq?

  2. #2
    Fastest Box In South Jersey 86VickyLX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Westmont, New Jersey
    Posts
    10,308

    Default

    03 may be a tune. Unless you have a vss with a gear on the extension housing on the drivers side.
    "Vicky" 1986 Ford LTD Crown Victoria LX ..................................."Blue" 1992 Mercury Grand Marquis LS

    Vicky
    Too much stuff to list in my signature...
    Blue
    Gone! But Parts from it will live on in others!


  3. #3
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    38,150

    Default

    you want to tune it. Pretty sure they use the speed sensor and output shaft sensor together to control shift scheduling . Changing the gear, if its still got that, might make it do funny stuff.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  4. #4
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,226

    Default

    Yes, tune it. Otherwise the trans will go into limp mode.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  5. #5

    Default

    For the time being(maybe 2 weeks) I've run it without rear wheel speed sensors. Waiting for them to arrive. It is impossible to get those bastards out without messing them up. seems to shift fine and seemingly at appropriate times. though obviously no ABS or traction control. I suppose I'll pick up a tuner to fix the speedo and maybe pep some other things up.

  6. #6
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,226

    Default

    The wheels sensors are best removed by disconnecting the connector first and giving the wire some slack to the sensor for removal. Once you're in there, it's actually pretty easy to change those out. Also make sure the teeth on the tone ring aren't full of crap. That will screw with any sensor and keep them from working.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sly View Post
    The wheels sensors are best removed by disconnecting the connector first and giving the wire some slack to the sensor for removal. Once you're in there, it's actually pretty easy to change those out. Also make sure the teeth on the tone ring aren't full of crap. That will screw with any sensor and keep them from working.
    they aren't difficult because of placement or anything. they are difficult because they get stuck in there with time and corrosion and dirt etc.

  8. #8
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    38,150

    Default

    He's in Texas, he had to leave the state to find out what rust looks like. Usually I end up removing those things with a punch and a BFH to drive them out. They rarely let go nicely.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  9. #9
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    21,226

    Default

    Yeah... if rust... BFH. And we do have rust down here... but that's mostly in the panhandle.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 88 MGM (SOLD), 93 Vic, 2000 Crown Vic, 2003 Expedition
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net