Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi from Germany

Newbie here.
    IŽm from Germany and bought a 1984 Lincoln Town Car last week. Did some homework before thanks to your site, so I knew what to expect and how to check (ATC issues like TBL switch, ambient themp control sensor, auto park brake release)
    Did the 250mile trip home at 75-80mph whenever possible but it rained almost the whole day. I fueled up before departure and when I got home: 19.3 mpg (US gal).

I knew the 302 was anemic but is it really normal that the TC slowed down from 75/80mph to 60mph on every slope? Tires properly inflated, new coil, wires plugs, distributor from previous owner. Fuel injection system serviced, too. I only noticed he PCV hose on the right valve cover wasnŽt connected to the grommet.

Many greetings and thanks for you help in advance.

Welcome to the forums!

Your MPG is excellent for those speeds, but the performance definitely doesn't sound right. You do know you have to give it more throttle when going up hills? At those speeds, a 302 "LoPo" is quite out of breath, so you really have to give throttle.
    Does it just do nothing when giving it all uphill?

Does the engine sound and behave correctly otherwise, other than just slow?
    1985 Mercury Grand Marquis LS, "Maisa"
    1995 Chevrolet Caprice Classic STW, "Sally"

Comment

Welcome to the forum.
      ~David~

My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
      My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

Originally posted by ootdega
      My life is a long series of "nevermind" and "I guess not."

Originally posted by DerekTheGreat
      But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

Originally posted by gadget73
      my car starts and it has AC. Yours doesn't start and it has no AC. Seems obvious to me.

Comment

Welcome!

I second the MPG being impressive, performance does not sound right.