PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Which Circuits Have 12v ON & START?

  1. #21
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,607

    Default

    And for headlight relay mods... replacing those relays on the side of the road in the dark is so much easier when there's sockets.

    yeah, I've had to do that once.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  2. #22
    Donating Member massacre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    421

    Default

    Can any of you guys recommend a good socket that would handle 30 amps? Thanks
    ..

  3. #23
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,607

    Default

    If you need more than just a couple, this might be perfect for you... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MR64XK1/
    There's a kit option that includes relays and fuses as well. You provide your own wire.

    I used this style in my car because I don't care about looks and they're all over the place instead of consolidated in one place... https://www.amazon.com/ONLINE-LED-ST...dp/B01KVZ2MCW/

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  4. #24
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,849

    Default

    I have a bunch of those loose ones too, probably the same make. Not sure I'd trust running 30 amps through them but I have been running the e-fan on the Conti with one for 2 years now without any problem. I've had it running in high speed for most of that time too. Startup surge on that is probably an easy 25 amps. The original Ford relay was this really funky thing that seemed to be used on the diesel and I think a 1973 Torino wagon with a tow package. Of course you can't find that relay, so it got subbed for a generic Botch type of finest quality direct from China.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  5. #25
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,607

    Default

    I have the HVAC blower on one as well. Zero issues there.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  6. #26
    Donating Member massacre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    421

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sly View Post
    If you need more than just a couple, this might be perfect for you... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MR64XK1/
    There's a kit option that includes relays and fuses as well. You provide your own wire.

    I used this style in my car because I don't care about looks and they're all over the place instead of consolidated in one place... https://www.amazon.com/ONLINE-LED-ST...dp/B01KVZ2MCW/
    Thanks for those links, i'm currently looking for singles, no room for a big box but that looks like a nice piece.
    Not sure that 14 gauge is necessarily "heavy duty" as my main circuit has 10 gauge wires. But it seems you guys are using them so i'll give it a shot. They are cheap enough lol.
    Last edited by massacre; 11-04-2021 at 09:55 PM.
    ..

  7. #27
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,607

    Default

    I removed the pins and uncrimped them and added 10 gauge wire for the lines I was concerned with. I think I only did that to 2 of the 13 or so I'm using. Both of those were for the blower motor relay in 2 different cars. The rest, no problems. For that short of a run of 14, just put 10 behind it and it should be fine. If not... use another one and do the terminal swap.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  8. #28
    Donating Member massacre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    421

    Default

    I have terminals.
    I'll just swap the terminals, thanks!
    ..

  9. #29
    Member sluggish91's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    California
    Posts
    116

    Default

    So it turns out the Pro-M system already has a relay for the ECM and Sensors, so I won't need to worry about the whole relay situation. Here is the relay that protects the ECM and sensors on the Pro-M harness.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2531.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	52.9 KB 
ID:	57219
    I will be able to run my orange wire directly to the wire I am looking for, as it is already protected by a relay. No point in installing another relay to active this one.

    I also *think* I was able to identify the two wires kishy was talking about, the Red + Light Green and Brown + Pink wires coming from the ignition switch.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2539.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	62.1 KB 
ID:	57220

    I believe I was also able to track down the Red + Light Green splice coming through the firewall. This is the harness that it is loomed up to coming through the firewall.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2542.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	77.8 KB 
ID:	57222

    It looks to be spliced up to another wire, but this one is Red + Green. Both greens are distinct. Here is what it looks like:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2541.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	51.3 KB 
ID:	57221

    Now, my question is, which wire do I splice into to make this all work? Red + Light Green at ignition switch? Brown + Light Pink at ignition switch? Do I peel back some of the large harness the Red + Light Green & Red + Green are loomed up to and splice into that wire? Do I just splice into the Red + Light Green that is exposed already and not worry about the Red + Green right next to it?

    This has really been my greatest challenge to date, and it's been really kicking my behind since February. Plus, I know my dad is getting anxious and impatient, and I know he wants to drive his car soon, and I'm what's stopping him because I'm the one doing the install. But anyways, I really appreciate the helping hand this community has given me so far. So as to not leave you guys & gals with only my troubles, here's a picture of what I have been able to succeed in so far:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2545.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	145.8 KB 
ID:	57223

    Thanks again for everyone's help! Everyone here totally rocks \m/
    1985 2-Door
    CFI, K&N Filter, Edelbrock Performer 289 Intake, E7 Heads, BBK Shorty Headers, Summit H-pipe, Hooker Max Flow Mufflers, E-Fan, 3G Alternator, Race Crank Pulley, Bilstein Rear Shocks, KYB Front Shocks, Front Lowering Springs, FTI 2400 Stall Converter, PA Performance Valve Body, Motive 4.30 Gear, Eaton LSD Differential - I own quite possibly the fastest CFI powered box to the 1/8th mile: 9.95@68.89mph

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net