PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Adding an ac system to my car

  1. #1

    Default Adding an ac system to my car

    I'm looking to add ac to my factory non ac car. I have questions that hopefully some of you can answer. Here they are: -Will I need to pull the entire evaporator box out of the parts car or can i just take my evaporator box thats already in my car that was plugged off from factory and put the evaporator core inside (is there any hardware in the box that actually holds it into place)
    - Since this is an R12 system where did you get your retrofit kit for r134a
    - what type of oil did you use once you retrofitted (mineral oil, PAG?)

    As far as the ac components, I plan on buying brand new equipment, the parts car is mainly utilized for the brackets, wiring, and any related hardware.

    Note i will be using something similar to this https://www.amazon.ca/VIVOHOME-Manif...s%2C108&sr=8-5
    plus a scale and I shouldn't have a problem aquiring r134a

    If you can answer my questions or add on to anything in this topic, it will be appreciated, thanks
    Last edited by 1985crownvicltd85; 05-14-2022 at 06:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    23,191

    Default

    You can use your current box. You may need the foam surround for the evap to wedge it into the hole properly. Retrofit kits are available at most local parts stores, Amazon, RockAuto, etc. If you're using all new parts for the AC components (compressor, lines, condenser, evap, accumulator, orifice tube) then the old R12 contamination will not be an issue. Use PAG oil or Ester oil. You can use a parts evap and just use AC flush to clean it out and then just use Ester oil. 2oz in the evap, 2 oz in the condensor, 4 in the compressor. Once everything is connected and pumped down, manually turn the compressor a dozen times to make sure the oil is moved around everywhere in it and won't hydrolock and blow out seals under engine speed.

    That kit looks like a deal, but you may need a valve core tool to make sure the cores are tight if they are removable. If the new lines have non-removable valves, then there's no need.

    Also, the leak detector only works on systems with refrigerant in it. Won't help you out with the initial install, but may come in handy later down the road.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the help.

  4. #4

    Default

    so far i have everything in except the condensor and low pressure switch, I tried threading the low pressure switch on but the threads on the switch are too big. I ordered it for a r134a system but obviously its not the correct part. So my question is if I order the switch for a r12 system will it thread on?

    https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/...ch+switch,4284

  5. #5
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    23,191

    Default

    They will both be the same thread. There's a couple different places they are mounted. One is on the low pressure line going to the compressor. The other is the side port on the accumulator/dryer. If one doesn't work, try the other. They should both have schrader valves. Also, verify the part number of the part against what is on the box just in case you got some mixed up box.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  6. #6

    Default

    I only see one on the side of the accumulator. I checked the part number on the box and its correct, I couldnt find a part number on the part itself, so its very possible its been switched out. Can someone post a picture of the accumulator and pressure switch on their car? thanks.

  7. #7
    Wagon Addicted Tiggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Bedford, VA
    Posts
    6,784

    Default

    Here's the accumulator with two shrader valves.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	69F01E69-9330-4287-A6EE-40F9E6702D5B.png 
Views:	14 
Size:	657.8 KB 
ID:	58042
    1990 Country Squire - weekend cruiser, next project
    1988 Crown Vic LTD Wagon - waiting in the wings

    GMN Box Panther History
    Box Panther Horsepower and Torque Ratings
    Box Panther Production Numbers

  8. #8

    Default

    yes, one for the low pressure port and the other for the pressure switch

  9. #9

    Default

    yea switch was wrong, heres the final product. Blows ice cold Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0368.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	112.0 KB 
ID:	58047

  10. #10
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    23,191

    Default


    VICTORY!
    Cold AC is requirement.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  11. #11
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    41,415

    Default

    in all my years on here, I think this is a first. Someone purposely installed AC on one of these rather than removing it.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  12. #12
    GMN Regular DerekTheGreat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    6,879

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73 View Post
    in all my years on here, I think this is a first. Someone purposely installed AC on one of these rather than removing it.
    Yeah, wow. Very cool, literally even. Looks fact-ree too.
    1985 LTD Crown Victoria - SOLD
    1988 Town Car Signature - Current Party Barge

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net