Window Run Channel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Window Run Channel

For those that have replaced the front window run channels does the factory stuff go all the way down to the bottom of the track inside the door? I’m hoping not as I’m not very good at removing door panels without something breaking. Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Assuming you have a 79-91 Crown Vic or Grand Marquis, here is a pic of the front door run channel seal. Rear is 24" long, across the top is 19" and along the windshield is 29" long. This is for a front door without vent window. BTW, I have nice good used ones if anybody needs them. WagonMan
    Attached Files
    89 Colony Park
    90 Colony Park
    70 HEMI Daytona Convertible

Comment

Originally posted by matth825 View Post
      For those that have replaced the front window run channels does the factory stuff go all the way down to the bottom of the track inside the door? I’m hoping not as I’m not very good at removing door panels without something breaking. Thanks!

You should run it all the way down the track, yes. The window may escape the channel or otherwise just rattle excessively if it isn't inside of it for the longest possible length.

On front doors, the front edge is critical for this, the back edge is less critical but still helps. If you have to pick either the front or back edge to be short a couple inches, the back is better for that, but either way you still need to go below the "beltline" of the car, so to speak.

Current driver: Ranger
      Panthers: 83 GM 2dr | 84 TC | 85 CS
      | 88 TC | 91 GM
      Not Panthers: 85 Ranger | Ranger trailer | 91 Acclaim | 05 Focus
      Gone: 97 CV | 83 TC | 04 Focus | 86 GM
      | Junkyards

Comment

Thanks guys! I neglected to include in my first post the car is a ‘85 4 door CV with vent windows.

Wagonman…do you have a good used set for a vent window door?