PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mercury Switch, where is it located?

  1. #1
    I post a lot... Toploader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,983

    Default Mercury Switch, where is it located?

    On my '86 MGM, the under hood light........I can not find the mercury switch, how does the lamp go off when the hood is closed???

  2. #2
    GMN Regular WagonMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bridgewater Ct.
    Posts
    944

    Default

    The switch is in the housing where the bulb goes. When you open the hood, the ball of mercury slides down to make contact so the light comes on. I remove the bulbs under my hoods, the switch can fail and drain your battery if the light is on with the hood closed. I have a flashlight under the seat of my cars for emergencies. WagonMan
    89 Colony Park
    90 Colony Park
    70 HEMI Daytona Convertible

  3. #3
    I post a lot... Toploader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1,983

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WagonMan View Post
    The switch is in the housing where the bulb goes. When you open the hood, the ball of mercury slides down to make contact so the light comes on. I remove the bulbs under my hoods, the switch can fail and drain your battery if the light is on with the hood closed. I have a flashlight under the seat of my cars for emergencies. WagonMan
    Pete bulb in my car just goes into the bulb socket, there is no housing??

  4. #4
    GMN Regular WagonMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bridgewater Ct.
    Posts
    944

    Default

    There must be a spring loaded plunger type switch somewhere along the edge of the fender. Follow the wire from the hood light.
    WagonMan
    89 Colony Park
    90 Colony Park
    70 HEMI Daytona Convertible

  5. #5
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    23,288

    Default

    The bulb socket has the mercury switch in it. The switch doesn't take up much of any room.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  6. #6
    Donating Member massacre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    656

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sly View Post
    The bulb socket has the mercury switch in it. The switch doesn't take up much of any room.
    This is what i was thinking as well. Aero hood and trunk lights are mercury switches and it's part of the socket and not big at all.
    ..

  7. #7
    Still Wrenchin'! friskyfrankie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    758

    Default

    May be able to find a replacement OEM on EBAY if the original is faulty. Not sure if the original question was for informational purposes or there is an issue.
    What I Own: 1993 Mercury Grand Marquis GS
    What I Help Maintain: 1996 CV / 1988 CV / 1988 Tempo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net