PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: pulled some codes

  1. #1

    Default pulled some codes

    Hi, I got around to pulling some codes yesterday.
    This is a 1990 Colony Park with a stock block, 96 Explorer heads and intakes, 90 HO throttle body, 90 Mustang Computer, Mustang headers, 19 lb injectors and Mustang Mass Air set up. The Mass Air meter is actually a 75 mm Pro Flow. The air box is an 80's Cougar mounted behind the drivers side headlights.

    The GT 40 intake does NOT have the Boss drilled and tapped for the ATC sensor. I don't see one anywhere. I assume this is why the gas mileage is so bad. 10 MPG.
    I probably have dozens of questions, but will try to limit the number. The car does chirp 2nd gear at 3500 rpm. Amazing for a 4000 lb car. Im sure the 3.55L gears help.
    1. Can I tap into the air tube between the Mass Air Meter and the throttle body for the ATC?
    I just ordered a new PRO M 75 mm mass air meter and sensor, since I do not know the history of the current one.
    The codes I get are KeyOn EngineOff codes.
    23 Throttle Position sensor out of range.
    95 Fuel Pump secondary circuit fault.
    33 EGR valve not opening properly.
    53 TPS above max voltage
    Fuel injector pump lever sensor input is
    greater than self test.
    63 Throttle Position circuit fault below minimum voltage.

    Keyon EngineRunning codes.
    12 RPM at idle out of range/high
    23 TP signal out of range.

    The RPMS are 1100 on start up in Park.
    900 down to 500 in drive. It will surge within this range at stop lights. Of course the engine light will come back on. Most of the time the engine light is off.
    The car still runs well, even when you give it hell.

    Once I get these issues straightened out
    at light and medium throttle the car always has shifted 2-3 right at 40mph. Most of my driving is around 35-40mph so it dont shift until I speed up to 40mph. What would I adjust to have it shift at 35mph?

    Any help and comments are always appreciated.

  2. #2
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    If the air temp sensor doesn't hit some number, it doesn't go into long term fuel trim learn. I think its 140F? Something like that. The early GT40 has a flat spot where the sensor would be, and its easy to drill/tap it with the proper stuff. The later lowers do not have the flat spot and there really isn't much you can do for that. Either way it probably isn't helping your fuel economy.

    The problem with just putting it in other places is the ECM is programmed to expect it in the lower intake. Its using that to control one of the fuel tables to alter the fuel mix based on air temp entering the cylinder. It can be tuned to know that its reading air stream temp, but just sticking the sensor in the air tube is going to read basically outside air temp and the ECM will think the engine is constantly cold. It will probably just fatten the fuel mix up, and the fuel econ will suck because of it.

    I'd honestly go for an OEM Ford MAF. the aftermarket ones have questionable transfer curves and can do all manner of retarded shit.

    23 - tps is probably bad
    95 - the fuel pump sense wire wasn't connected when the MAF conversion was done. Needs a wire connected from ECM pin 19 to the fuel pump side of the pump relay. Or not, because honestly this doesn't matter. It just sets a code. The only real diag function it can tell you is if the fuel pump relay is bad, but thats not exactly difficult to figure out.
    33 - make sure the EGR vacuum plumbing is actually connected and not leaky
    53 - TPS is still bad
    -- no idea, not sure this number, don't think I've ever heard of this code before
    63 - yet again, the TPS is bad



    12 - might be a lot of things, but change the TPS first and see if it fixes itself
    23 - TPS


    Put a TPS on it and see if most of this nonsense doesn't go away.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  3. #3

    Default

    It does have the flat spot on the lower, but I don't want to pull the intake until I have to, maybe to replace the fuel injectors one day.

    you're so AWESOME Gadget. Thank you Thank you Thank you.
    Last edited by stinkydogfilms; 02-24-2021 at 06:01 PM.

  4. #4
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    If you're feeling brave you can drill it on the car. Its going to dump aluminum shavings down the hole. If the valve isn't open you can blast it with air and get most of the chips out if the upper intake is off.

    smarter move is do it off the car. Its 3/8" NPT, needs a 9/16" tap drill.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  5. #5

    Default

    I'm not feeling too brave on that.
    Any advice on lowering the 2-3 shift point?
    It's suppose to have a Mustang governor.
    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    see if it changes with the TPS. Throttle position may change a bit and that might be enough to do it.

    otherwise you can lower the TV pressure a smidge, but too low will cause damage.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  7. #7

    Default

    Thank you

  8. #8

    Default

    Gadget you nailed it again. A couple of days ago I changed the TPS and the check engine light never came on. I drove 7 miles around the neighborhood with quite a few stop signs. The idle stayed at 600-650 rpms when stopped. Yesterday I replaced the ECT sensor and drove another 7 miles thru the same route. Everything was fine. No check engine light and a great idle. Giving it WOT a couple of times and its still chirping 2nd gear at 3800 rpms. All is good and I do THANK YOU!

  9. #9
    The Brown Blob 87gtVIC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Whitestone, NY
    Posts
    20,076

    Default

    Nice!
    ~David~

    My 1987 Crown Victoria Coupe: The Brown Blob
    My 2004 Mercedes Benz E320:The Benz

    Quote Originally Posted by DerekTheGreat View Post
    But, that's just coming from me, this site's biggest pessimist. Best of luck

  10. #10
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    it does a wide open shift at only 3800? Thats like a thousand too low. Also must be a hell of an aggressive shift kit if it breaks the tires loose at that rpm.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  11. #11

    Default

    it actually will break them loose by accident sometimes at less throttle than that. I need to dyno it one day. I am curious about the torque. Im guessing the horsepower is around 280.
    When Bernie and Pirranah had it for sell, someone mentioned that it ran like a raped ape. That was the selling point at which I bought it.

  12. #12
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    are you sure the tach is right? If it really is shifting that low, you're probably losing a lot of potential because of it. The HO governor typically goes around 4800, the lopo one is about 4300.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  13. #13

    Default

    Iím going to check with another tach.
    I thought it was shifting before at 45 mph with the 3.55s and AOD. I looked again and it looked like 40 mph at 3800.

  14. #14
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,269

    Default

    gear calc says that 3800 in 2nd with a 3.55 and stock-ish size tires (26.6") would be 58. Would be 34 in first gear. I'm assuming stock ratio AOD at least. Wide ratio would be 55 and 30 respectively.

    so something doesn't add up here. Either the tach is off, the speedo is off, or both are off. Or you have significantly different than stock diameter tires.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  15. #15

    Default

    I'm sorry if I was not clear. The shift from 1st into 2nd is at 3800 rpm. The AOD has stock gears. I know the shift should be higher. I have not even checked the WOT shift from 2 to 3 and beyond. The tires are 235/70/15 Goodrich TAs. 28 inches tall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net