PotM GrandMarq.NET - Panther Headquarters Forum Index PotM
GMN Chat Room GMN's STORE!! GMN's Gallery Please!!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Clicking under dash

  1. #1
    PROUD DADDY OF JILLIAN PICKUP6772's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    MASTIC BEACH, NY
    Posts
    759

    Default Clicking under dash

    Hey guys,
    Finally got the Town Car back on the road. Now I am having an issue with a rapid clicking under the middle of the dash. I scanned for HVAC, and BCM codes, and have nothing. I know right away,, that is wrong,, as the recirculation motor is missing.. According to my daughter, it sounds like a woodpecker stuck in there. It happens about every 4-5 minutes, and is quite annoying. Does anybody have any ideas.
    Thanks, Mike

  2. #2
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,317

    Default

    What year is the towny again?

    I know my 88 MGM had the autolamp relay there behind the ashtray, but the townies may not have kept it in the same place. I've also heard of the door chime doing stupid stuff and it's mounted somewhere in that area too.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  3. #3
    I'm an air-conditioned gypsy gadget73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    40,396

    Default

    if its new enough to scan, its new enough to have a blend door motor. Bet you a buck its the actuator.

    86 Lincoln Town Car (Galactica).
    5.0 HO, CompCams XE258,Scorpion 1.72 roller rockers, 3.55 K code rear, tow package, BHPerformance ported E7 heads, Tmoss Explorer intake, 65mm throttle body, Hedman 1 5/8" headers, 2.5" dual exhaust, ASP underdrive pulley

    91 Lincoln Mark VII LSC SE, triple black (Timewarp) - poly front bushings, KYB struts and shocks, Holley SystemMax1 lower intake, SilverFox AOD valve body,

    1984 Lincoln Continental TurboDiesel - rolls coal

    Quote Originally Posted by phayzer5 View Post
    I drive a Lincoln. I can't be bothered to shift like the peasants and rabble rousers

  4. #4
    PROUD DADDY OF JILLIAN PICKUP6772's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    MASTIC BEACH, NY
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Sly, the car is a 2010. Gadget, I was thinking about that, as I replaced the right side one a while back. It is an aftermarket, so it could have crapped out. The car was a freebie from a customer who owns a Limo service. The blend motor, and recirculating motor were both missing, as I'm certain his in house "mechanics" raided it for small parts.
    Mike

  5. #5
    Beater gonna beat sly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lewisville, TX
    Posts
    22,317

    Default

    Yeah... +1 blend door actuator. You can technically see if behind the glove box, but getting it out... Lots of cussing and possible dash removal. Might be able to get it by pulling the passenger airbag out of the way. The usual cautions about doing that though. Disconnect battery, press brakes... wait another minute or 20... then remove.

    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -- Albert Einstein
    rides: 93 Crown Vic LX (The Red Velvet Cake), 2000 Crown Vic base model (Sandy), 2003 Expedition (the vacation beast)
    Quote Originally Posted by gadget73
    ... and it should all work like magic and unicorns and stuff.
    Quote Originally Posted by dmccaig
    Overhead, some poor bastards are flying in airplanes.

  6. #6
    Stow It! GM_Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,444

    Default

    Yes, the airbag definately gotta get out of the way, it completely blocks any access to the area. If you got to pull a whale dash, and you have done a box, the whale is an easier one to do, I find. Don't need to remove it but getting it so you can move it around helps a bunch.

  7. #7
    PROUD DADDY OF JILLIAN PICKUP6772's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    MASTIC BEACH, NY
    Posts
    759

    Default

    Thanks guys. Sorry for the delay in responding. Just finished my last day at my old job. New job starts Monday, with More pay, better health care, retirement, and shorter commute. Win/win/win.
    Mike

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
GMN Approved Links!


www.rockauto.com www.adtr.net