Howdy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Howdy

So here I am, joining a forum about my new old car.

I don't think I've joined a forum like this since about 2003, when I joined www.passatworld.com (then called clubb5.com.) I was a mechanic for VW then, though not anymore. It's a good group over there though, so I still post there often as Sharky.

But anyway, a drunk woman totaled my 1995 Camry, which had about 248k miles on it, turning it into a parts car for me. Thanks, bitch. The worst of it was how I was REALLY looking forward to hitting a quarter million miles and then posting odometer pics on passtworld to rub it in their kraut-loving faces. The Camry had actually won Camry of the Month there at Passatworld for April Fool's 2006. Oh, well...

Many years ago I had bought a 1984 Town Car to play with, and it was a HUGE crapbox, but I liked it anyway. Actually, anything interior-wise was junk, but mechanically it was pretty good. The Lincoln was just too ugly to drive for a young guy, though, and I sold it and got the Camry.

And so the Camry is totaled and I needed a cheap, CHEAP new ride. I was THIS close to buying something brand new, but I have been without a car payment my whole adult life and the thought of having one now was just disgusting to me.

I swore after the '84 I would never own another Town Car due to the infuriatingly horrible interior quality, but this time around I messed up and drove a tired '89 and remembered why I liked Panthers. I then found a white '88 with a blue top and interior in not terrible shape and bought it for basically nothing because it needed a heater core, which is also something the '84 needed about 12 years before when I had owned it.

So I bought it, did the heater core, and now enjoy toodling around in my slowly-dissolving gravy boat.

So, howdy.
    Last edited by Ike Clanton; 12-03-2009, 04:20 AM.

Originally posted by Ike Clanton View Post