Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thermostat removal

Hi guys,

I am new to the forum and wanted to introduce myself. I have been driving grand marquis' since 1996 and currently have three in the fold (1998, 1999, and 2001) plus 2007 F1510 Supercrew. Yes we are an all Ford family. I need to flush the coolant systems of these cars are they were all purchased used and maintenance was not performed regularly. I am concerned about cracking plastic intake manifold when removing the thermostat. It happen to one earlier marquis' and I had to have the manifold replaced. All I did was remove the bolts to the thermostat housing and snap, the manifold cracked . Can anyone share a way that will allow me to remove the thermostat and not crack the manifold. Thanks in advance for your help.
    Last edited by Dadsworkshop; 07-16-2015, 01:15 PM. Reason: spellling

Welcome!

I'm not too familiar with the 4.6, but I believe 98-01 that you have would fall into the range where that plastic intake breaks on it's own. Your best bet would be to get the new updated intake before you touch anything. Someone else more knowledgeable will be along soon enough to fill in the details that I am unaware of.
    Vic

~ 1989 MGM LS Colony Park - Large Marge
    ~ 1998 MGM LS - new DD
    ~ 1991 MGM LS "The Scab"
    ~ 1991 MGM GS "The Ice Car"

Comment

Do you have the intake with the plastic crossover tube? If so you may as well replace it anyways, because it will crack and leak in the future regardless.

2020 F250 - 7.3 4x4 CCSB STX 3.55's - BAKFlip MX4
      2005 Grand Marquis GS - Marauder sway bars, Marauder exhaust, KYB's
      2003 Marauder - Trilogy # 8, JLT, kooks, 2.5" exhaust, 4.10's/31 spline, widened rear's, metco's, addco's, ridetech's 415hp/381tq
      1987 Colony Park - 03+ frame swap, blown Gen II Coyote, 6R80, ridetechs, stainless works, absolute money pit. WIP

Comment

Originally posted by pantera77 View Post