Beginning Explorer Swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Beginning Explorer Swap

Alright, my stock 5.0 is kaput so its time to change it up. I'm starting this thread because I'm a huge newb and while I'd like to share the experience of doing the swap, I'd also like you guys to feel free to point out where I'm going wrong if I am going wrong. Thanks in advance.

Picked up a 1997 Ford Explorer 5.0 with 40,000 miles on it. While the motor is out of the car, I'd like to possibly cam it and do some "streetable" modifications. Not looking to build a monster here, but something that moves the barge with reasonable effect would be cool. I'm going to do some 3.83s in the rear and the 4R70 innards on the trans. I've got a good friend with some Ford background (PI swap Thunderbird, SHO guru, etc) working with me on it, but he's fairly new to the 5.0 stuff.

Talking transmission here, he's saying I should grab one from a Mark VIII as it was the better of the 4R70 units out there. Yay or nay or no difference? Also wondering if I can use the injectors in the picture, or if I'm going to need something else. Going to be running a Mark VII computer.

Attached are motor shots and a pic of the beast.
    Attached Files

Upgrade the valve springs. The explorer springs aren't that good.

Comment

Originally posted by 86VickyLX View Post
      Upgrade the valve springs. The explorer springs aren't that good.
      who makes a decent set? i normally use eibachs on my imports but they don't seem to have a 302 app newer than 1981. any recommendation?

Comment