Idle over heat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Idle over heat

My car begins to overheat when I am at a stop light or drive thru. It's a 1988 lincoln town car so the temp guage gets to about the O in NORMAL. It dosent get hot while I'm driving just when I'm stopped. It will also cool down while at a drive thru or stop if I give it a little gas wether I slip it into neutral or with my foot on the brake. Could this be the fan clutch? I couldn't see it being the pump and the radiator is brand new.

im no pro but when my bro and i changed the fan clutch on his 90 cv it helped. the only way to know if the fan clutch is bad, in my noob experience was, if you could spin the fan with a light tap of your finger with the engine off then your clutch is bad.
    if its tight then it shouldnt spin freely. check that out. im sure some pros will give you more precise answers.

-leo
    sigpic
    67 Ltd tudor
    67 Ltd 4door
    85 Ltd 4door

Comment

replace the fan clutch

1986 lincoln towncar signature series. 5.0 HO with thumper performance ported e7 heads, 1.7 roller rockers, warm air intake, 65mm throttle body, 1/2" intake spacer, ported intakes, 3.73 rear with trac lock, 98-02 front brake conversion, 92-97 rear disc conversion, 1" rear swaybar, 1 3/16" front swaybar, 16" wheels and tires, loud ass stereo system, badass cb, best time to date 15.94 at 87 mph. lots of mods in the works 221.8 rwhp 278 rwt
      2006 Lincoln Town Car Signature. Stock for now
      1989 Ford F-250 4x4 much much more to come, sefi converted so far.
      1986 Toyota pickup with LSC wheels and 225/60/16 tires.
      2008 Hyundai Elantra future Revcon toad
      1987 TriBurner and 1986 Alaska stokers keeping me warm. (and some pesky oil heat)

please be patient, rebuilding an empire!

Comment

Originally posted by Lincolnmania View Post
        replace the fan clutch
        wiith an electric fan...