Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

location of several things/ general maintenance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

location of several things/ general maintenance?

Just to pamper my relatively-new car, there are several things that seem to have come up repeatedly as a topic of general maintenance.

I'm still a noob, and sadly the chilton/haynes manuals don't always show photos of MY car (usually a more recent crown vic), and, only up-close photos that never put the part in context. Just for example, when I did my shocks last month, all I knew was that they were near the spring, which would be near the wheel... took me half an hour to figure out where they were bolted, to begin to unbolt them; didn't help that they were covered in black grease and blended right in with everything else!

So anyway:
    where, in detail, is the PCV valve? Is the PCV element the same as the filter, that is supposed to be down in the hose and extractable with a woodscrew? Or is the element a separate part?
    Someone said it was behind the intake manifold... is that the cast iron piece on the very top of the engine?

Where is the O2 sensor? Salvo said I have just one. Something about the exhaust manifold.. what does that look like/ where is it? Do I get to it from the top, or from under the car?
    Given that the car is 20 years old with 112,000 miles; seems a wise thing to just take care of, and know that it'll be good for quite some miles to come.

Where is the TV bushing? Where is/ what is the throttle body and what does it look like? Neither salvo nor autozone even knew what the throttle valve bushing WAS, might just have to go to the ford dealership...?
    The transmission was rebuilt before I bought the car (had receipts to prove it), would they have already redone the tv bushing with a brass one when the transmission was reinstalled, or not necessarily...?