"truck" motor vs. "car" motor ... discuss

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"truck" motor vs. "car" motor ... discuss

i'm considering an engine swap for my '85 CP wagon (CFI).

per my "advice needed" thread, colorado emissions prohibit running a truck motor in a passenger car. as some have pointed out, how would the tech know, other than running casting numbers?

so, what is the difference... or what tell-tale signs would alert someone? i'm new to this, but have been reading these HO-swap threads voraciously these last couple of days -- upper intake and i assume the EEC number/label? <-- but isn't the EEC telling both motors to do the same thing?

could i swap an explorer motor and then use a different EEC for an HO panther?

reminds me of that old chicken commercial, "parts is parts". i'm trying to wrap my head around what makes an explorer / F-series 5.0 different from a mustang, other than a few details. seems (to me) like they can't be that different?

any insight / advice appreciated!

No matter which you choose, you use a HO computer from a mark VII or mustang.

Explorer/Mountaineer engines have better heads, better intakes, a different cam (and a few other small things) compared to a HO mustang/mark VII engine.

F series engines aren't anything special, don't even look at those.
    2020 F250 - 7.3 4x4 CCSB STX 3.55's - BAKFlip MX4
    2005 Grand Marquis GS - Marauder sway bars, Marauder exhaust, KYB's
    2003 Marauder - Trilogy # 8, JLT, kooks, 2.5" exhaust, 4.10's/31 spline, widened rear's, metco's, addco's, ridetech's 415hp/381tq
    1987 Colony Park - 03+ frame swap, blown Gen II Coyote, 6R80, ridetechs, stainless works, absolute money pit. WIP

Comment

Originally posted by pantera77 View Post
      Explorer/Mountaineer engines have better heads, better intakes, a different cam (and a few other small things) compared to a HO mustang/mark VII engine.