Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

simplifying shock removal?

Hi!

Bought a 1990 colony park 2months ago. I'm a college student and this is my first car.
    To get it to pass inspection, yesterday (...and into today) I replaced the front shocks.

My god, the top nuts were hard to get to and impossible to remove. I spent literally 5 hrs with the driver side nut, shredding the shaft with a locking wrench before finally running out to the store and resorting to a dremel cutoff wheel, which only barely sufficed. It couldn't, actually, reach the shaft due to angles; but i was able to slice up the nut until it broke free.

So tomorrow I'd like to do the rear shocks, but I confess that I'm terrified. I was told that they're even harder to get to (is that possible?), and if the nuts are as frozen as the front ones were, it seems likely that I'll never get the 20yr old shocks off??
    I'm also nervous about the warning that I have to brace some part in the rear before removing the shocks, or the axle will come down? Not sure if I understood the haynes manual correctly.

I thought the rear shocks were much easier than the front shocks when I did them on my wagon, simply because the damn thing doesn't spin when you don't want it to.

Jack up the car by the frame, let the rear axle hang. Put jack stands under the rear axle on both sides.

Because of where the top of the shocks are mounted, the easiest way to remove the nut from the top of them is to use a ratcheting box-end wrench, aka "gear wrench." There isn't enough room to get a socket wrench in there, and with a ratcheting wrench, you don't have to keep taking the wrench off and putting it back on.

Once you pull the top nuts, the axle will settle onto the jack stands you put underneath. Remove the bottoms, and install the new shocks.

Welcome to GMN, and I'm glad to see another late-model wagon around here! They're a pretty rare breed, with only a few thousand made each year.