303 Cams

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

303 Cams

Ok so I'm not too experienced with cam dimensions and what to expect from looking at their technical specs. I've seen people talk well about the B303 and the E303. What makes these two so good, and what is the difference between the E, B, X, Z, F, and G 303 cams? Does anyone on here know what would be expected from them. Also, looking at getting GT40X heads as well. This is for an '89 lopo going to be a HO & MAF convert.

A few things:
    1. cams are VERY complex engineering pieces, as I'm sure you've gathered. Your best bet is going to a custom cam manufacturer or an aftermarket cam place like Comp Cams and having them recommend a cam for the rest of your combo, once you've figured it out.

2. While they can be made to work well, conventional wisdom is that the 'letter cams' (and indeed almost everything Ford Racing makes for small blocks) are outdated and there are far better options on the market. These are 15+ year old designs and really quite obsolete.

3. The same can be said for GT40X heads. GT40Xs are basically the aluminum version of GT40 heads. GT40's are the best heads ever fitted to production small block fords. No factory head comes close. The problem is, that's not saying much. The heads from Trick Flow, AFR, and others will absolutely blow the doors off a GT40X head at the same price point, with no real loss in 'low end torque', and generally equal or better build quality. Small Block Ford heads were always pitifully small/restrictive from the factory, do not skimp on this. Even for a 302, I'd try to find at least 175CC (intake runner volume) heads for a street performance build.