carpet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

carpet?

What makes automotive carpet different than the plain ol' stuff you'd find in a house? Anything?

Gotta put down a new patch of carpet and insulation where I had to pull some of mine and want to know what I should be looking for.

Any tips or trick to putting this stuff down so it doesn't move around at all? Act as if I've never done this before. This is in the rear passenger floor pan btw, and I don't have any plans to remove seats and re-carpet the whole thing in future.

I'd personally be fine with leaving the floor pan exposed there 'cause I've got nice Built Ford Tough flootmats and it covers the spot perfectly
    sigpic

- 1990 Ford LTD Crown Victoria P72 - the street boat - 5.0 liter EFI - Ported HO intake/TB, 90 TC shroud/overflow, Aero airbox/zip tube, Cobra camshaft, 19lb injectors, dual exhaust w/ Magnaflows, Cat/Smog & AC delete, 3G alternator, MOOG chassis parts & KYB cop shocks, 215/70r/15s on 95-97 Merc rims

- 2007 Ford Escape XLT - soccer mom lifted station wagon - 3.0 Duratec, auto, rear converter delete w/ Magnaflow dual exhaust

- 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis Ultimate Edition - Daily driver - 4.6 2 valve Mod motor, 4R75E, 2.73s. Bone stock

Re carpeting is only a good days work. I believe the difference is that auto carpet is much more resilient and wont mold when wet, has higher tolerance to stain removal etc.
    "Shakedown"- 1991 Grand Marquis GS Dual exhaust, Magnaflow xl turbos, Rear anti sway bar, Outlaw 1 wheels, 43k miles
    1985 GMC 1500

Comment

Originally posted by 91grandmarquis View Post
      I believe the difference is that auto carpet is much more resilient and wont mold when wet, has higher tolerance to stain removal etc.
      This^

you can find automotive carpet by the yard at some auto interior online stores, you would just have to find the right color. This is what I have been looking at to get carpeting to redo the door panels: