PDA

View Full Version : {DRIVETRAIN} Inside your AOD trans..



Blaze86Vic
08-27-2005, 04:25 PM
Here are a few pics I took of the parts out of one of the old AODs that I had to use to make one for my car. This one is in my car now, untill I can go through and build that wide ratio AOD the way it should be.

The last pic is the direct clutch pack, that is what I swapped over from my old tranny, because the one in that pic is fried, thanks to a broken TV cable. It was out of another car, not originaly mine.

http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS1.JPG
http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS2.JPG
http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS3.JPG
http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS4.JPG
http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS5.JPG
http://www.grandmarq.net/blaze/Blaze_Pics/TPARTS6.JPG

85crownHPP
08-27-2005, 04:38 PM
:eek: :worship:

i could never take one of thos apart and put it back in my own box!!! well maybe after many practices....
I hope this is the last time you have to swap it man!

monterey1962
08-27-2005, 04:42 PM
Nice pics. Makes for a great visual reference.

Grand Marquis GT
08-27-2005, 04:51 PM
Of course, This wouldnt be the first time hes done this...

gadget73
08-27-2005, 05:47 PM
I think I missed something., I thought you bought a new trans that failed and was getting fixed. What happened to that?

Blaze86Vic
08-27-2005, 08:17 PM
Yeah this would be the second, and third time I did one. LOL When I swapped the good direct clutch pack from my old tranny, I didn't notice that the one I was building had a Town Car tailshaft (which is 1.5" longer). So when I installed it and the driveshaft didn't fit I had to pull it all apart again. Oh well, call me :crazy: but it was actually kind of fun.


I think I missed something., I thought you bought a new trans that failed and was getting fixed. What happened to that?

Yeah you did miss something...
http://www.grandmarq.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3738

Blaze86Vic
08-27-2005, 08:22 PM
I hope this is the last time you have to swap it man!

Actually, it's not. After a time I am going to have that wide ratio in my Vic. We are negociatin a partial refund so that I can finish buiding it correctly myself, with the correct high performance parts. I was supposed to get an A servo and was given a B servo, not to mention all the other problems...though I did find out that there is not supposed to be a valve body gasket in it. He said that the mods that were done to the valve body would not work with a gasket. I dunno, I would think you would modify the gasket to work...which I probobly will because I have a new one still sitting around that I can chop up.

Stu
08-27-2005, 11:55 PM
Looks like my projects :crazy:

Stop now and pay somebody!!!

phayzer5
08-27-2005, 11:58 PM
The difference here is that he knows what he's doing...

Blaze86Vic
08-28-2005, 12:24 AM
:lol: :lol:

Yep, I finished late friday night...well saturday morning at 1:00am. Drove it saturday and it's all good. Rides nice, shifts firm, and has a really good 3-4shift, very solid. I'm happy with it, I'll be driving it for about a month and by then I should be ready to put my wide ratio back in. :D

After it comes back out of the Vic, I believe it will be up for sale, and I will also have a new heavy duty converter to go with it when it does go up for sale.

85crownHPP
08-28-2005, 04:48 AM
hhhhmmmmm :D

Stu
08-28-2005, 08:31 AM
He said that the mods that were done to the valve body would not work with a gasket. I dunno, I would think you would modify the gasket to work...which I probobly will because I have a new one still sitting around that I can chop up.

Who is "he"? This sounds totally unbelievable.

Blaze86Vic
08-28-2005, 09:36 AM
Who is "he"? This sounds totally unbelievable.

"He" is Edward Jordan of Megamax Transmissions. This valve body not only had a combination of Bauman and Superior shift kits, but it also has the shift patter changed from OD D 1 to OD 2 1.

So you aught to believe it, I don't know everything that is done but there are locations on the valve body and trans block that have to be permenantly blocked to accomplish this.

Stu
08-28-2005, 03:18 PM
Totally nuts--no gasket?

It's like building an engine with no intake gasket. Oh well--as long as it works, right?

Blaze86Vic
08-28-2005, 06:54 PM
I agree, I think it is nuts, that is why I have decided that I am going to cut one of my new gaskets up so that all the passages are not restricted, that way I can still have a gasket.